All-Time Favorite Sweet Potato Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Heavenly!!! This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. Very simple; extremely tasty. Will be making again at Christmas as well as throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This recipe is similar to the sweet potato recipe my mother used to make. She is from Barbados and they know how to use sweet potatoes. The difference is in her recipe-- she uses coconut milk (which can be found in a can in most grocery stores in the "ethnic" section instead of milk and we add about a cup of raisins which have been soaking for several weeks in rum! If you don't have that much time, soaking them in rum overnight will work, too! Instead of lemon juice we use lime juice plus using the zest of half of the lime right in the mix. The lime juice gives it a real Caribbean taste. I will substitute all spice or pumpkin spice for the ginger, cloves and cinnamon. This dish sure beats the boring sweet potatoes and marshmallow dish seen in most American homes. Give it a try for something special and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANETTEMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I heard about Sweet Potato Pudding, on Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. Then I looked it up and found this scrumptious recipe on your site, thank you, and will let you know how it was when I cook it. Blessings to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is really yummy and easy to make. I only had a 40 oz can of sweet potatoes though, so I just added a bit extra of all the other ingredients. I also didn't have cloves, so I added some nutmeg instead. I thought it was just a touch too sweet though. Next time I'll probably add a bit of orange juice, to offset the sweetness. And since the recipe didn't say whether or not to drain the sweet potatoes, I drained most of the juice and put in about 1/3 cup. Overall, a fantastic recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This dish was a huge hit at a Thanksgiving-themed potluck. I tweaked it a little by adding 1/8 tsp. of nutmeg. I also garnished it with chopped pecans. I agree with the prior reviewer that the dish is very sweet and I may try the orange juice as well. Definitely a staple for Thanksgiving dinners to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Good recipe. I also used some of the juice from the yams and it came out pretty good. I did triple the recipe and forgot to triple the time so we had this for dessert with cool-whip and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lululu
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Not too bad making it for the first time, I'm sure it'll turn out better next time! I used regular sugar and fresh sweet potatoes (boiled and peeled).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Added extra sweet potato and cooked until the top was taught. very Good! Best made in a shallow dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodArtist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Gourmet Sweet Potato Classic

See how to make a top-rated sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States