All-Star Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I halved this recipe as it was just my husband and I. I also followed the suggestions of some other reviewers - mashed chick peas in a ziploc bag with a rolling pin, used one egg, and used extra firm tofu. I also found, as suggested, that wrapping the tofu in a papertowel and placing a heavy pan on top of it for a couple of hours worked well to drain the liquid out. I also added some fresh garlic and a bit of tex mex seasoning. It worked well and didn't really have any trouble with them falling apart while cooking. They did, however, get a bit crumbly when we tried to eat them, but not a big deal. My husband and I thought it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is one of the greatest veggie burger recipes I've ever had! We've completely transformed the recipe to our own liking now (just getting around to reviewing this), but the original is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
These were surprisingly good. I have had veggie burgers before, but never really cared for them. I ended up halving the recipe. TIP: Put the chickpeas in a ziploc and mash them with a rolling pin, super easy! Instead of fresh basil, I used dried. Didn't have the BBQ sauce, so I did a 1/2 ketchup/Worcestershire sauce. I added 1/4 tsp minced garlic instead of powder. I added 1/4 tsp ground mustard, 1.5 tbs chopped onion, and a few shakes of Liquid smoke. I also added 2 tbs of Bisquick, as suggested by another reviewed. I didn't feel like it needed an egg, like some others have said. Overall, pretty impressed. May make these again when I get tired of turkey since I do not eat beef burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was disappointed in this veggie burger. It really needs flavor. Next time I would add sauteed onions and garlic (not powdered),some vegetables (e.g., carrots, zucchini), and different spices. As it is, it tastes like bland, "hippie" food from the '70s. I have a suggestion for those who are having trouble with the tofu: Cut the tofu into four equal sections, place it on a baking sheet, put another baking sheet on top, then add several heavy books (dictionaries work well). Press it in this manner for an hour before crumbling it and adding it to the mixture. This process eliminates quite a bit of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I saw a lot of people used eggs, but I found that add a little bit of flour and water while shaping these burgers made all the difference. The ones that I made before the water/flour addition fell apart quick as noted - but after the water/flour addition, there was no change to the taste (which is terrific) and they held up very well. Forget the egg - just use flour (especially for those vegans out there)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Great for lunch boxes. My daughter wanted leftovers for lunch at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
These turned out totally awesome, but we did make a few changes. We added 2 eggs, used leftover yellow rice with peas and onions instead of the brown rice, used ketchup/worchestershire mixture instead of the Korean bbq sauce. The first one was a wet mess that crumbled apart so added 1/4c panko to the mix and let sit for a minute--then it worked great. With those modifications they turned out great. Next time I will try cutting down the tofu by half, try quinoa instead of rice, and I would add 1/2 med onion minced. Will let you know how this turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
These were pretty good. I added eggs and still couldn't get them to hold together so I added miso and V8. That did the trick. I like the recipe but I think they are missing something. Will play around with them till I can find what it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is good, but takes some elbow grease. Trying to mash those beans took what seemed like ages, and the tofu was not too forth coming with it's liquid either. However, once that was out of the way it was surprisingly simple. I added cumin (as suggested) and used dried basil (no fresh available). Also, I had no oat bran, so I used wheat germ. Tasted just fine. If you aren't sure whether the mixture is will hold it's patty shape when cooking here's a tip: simply make a huge ball out of it before making patties. If it retains the ball shape without lots of crumbs and cracks, it'll do fine. But if it won't retain the shape, add an egg or maybe more liquid. That's how I figured out if it would stay together in the pan. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Egg you have to put an egg in it, other wise loved as did the family mine were thin so heaps were made and brought firm tofu so no squeezing. Loved it thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States