All-Star Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Greetings everyone, I hope that you enjoy the recipe. Some recommendations to share, this was intended to be a vegan burger, but I recommend adding egg for those who are not strictly vegan. Also, when frying, after placing patty onto the pan, wait about a minute or two and then cover, so you can get the steam-fry effect, cripsy on the outside and moist (and cooked) on the inside. Thanks, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Love it, but made a few little changes a usual. :) I had only kidney beans on hand. I added one little can of red beets, including juice, for color and flavor, and mixed it in a blender along with the tofu. I didn't add cooked rice because of the ingreased moisture from the beets. I added a whole cup of uncooked bulgur wheat(didn't have oat bran) and a whole cup of oats. I added a lot of Tex Mex spice and put it in the fridge overnight. The consistency was great the next day to shape little meatballs. They browned nicely and tasted great. To finalize it, I added a jar of tomato sauce and served it with pasta. Next time I will make it with oat bran and the BBQ sauce, which I didn't have either. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Great flavor, but I would suggest using extra firm tofu. Otherwise the paties tend to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Many reviewers suggested adding egg and I concur. I also substituted A-1 sauce for the BBQ sauce with good results. Texture was appealing and leftovers warmed well as patties and crumbles in taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PARKER71
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This All-Star Veggie Burger gets 5-stars! I am pleasantly surprised at how flavorful it turned out to be. Used all the ingredients listed except for the dried sage which is replaced with thyme. We froze the remaining patties and it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Im not a vegetarian and this meal was fabulous!! I did add an egg which helped (kinda the meatloaf effect). I also added about 1/4 cup Bisquick for it to stick together even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMarcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I should have read the reviews before I made this. It definitely needs an egg or something to bind the mixture together. I used wheat bran instead of oat bran, and I added more of it to the mixture, which seemed to help. They were really falling apart on me. The fact that I absolutely couldn't get any water to squeeze out of the tofu didn't help matters. It all just squished between my fingers. I think the flavor is pretty good; I especially like the brown rice. I just wish the texture was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Yummy recipe! I will definetly make it again! I made it with ketchup mixed with a ground red pepper spice instead of the barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
We enjoyed the flavor of these. They do, as other reviews said, tend to fall apart a bit if you're not careful - it's that darn tofu! Not making the patties too thick, using a very wide spatula to turn, and cooking till crisp on one side before turning all helps. I'll make again & try some variations - maybe black beans, sunflower seeds, sesame, etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I don't think this is even a recipe. I think it's just stuff thrown together. They don't hold together as burgers and there's almost no flavor. The amount of seasoning could easily be tripled. I think people who change the whole recipe shouldn't leave 4 star reviews because this is not a 4 star recipe. I barely salvaged these into patties, but they're lose and wet and do not hold together. I got 14 patties, not 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States