All-Star Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was really good! Like others, I added an egg and that really helped it stay together. It didn't have a very strong flavor on its own, but that makes me excited to use it as a base and try many variations! It also takes well to a variety of sauces/toppings. WIll definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Perfect! I thought my family would balk but they really liked these burgers. I used whole wheat flour instead of oat bran and EXTRA firm tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Very good veggie burger, though I think I under-seasoned mine (needed more salt). I followed the recipe mostly to the T, but I did not have oat bran and I used Hoisin sauce instead of Korean BBQ..not sure how much of a difference that would have made but it still came out good. I also added a little egg white to the mix to bind it otherwise I could see that it was going to fall apart. I threw in some sunflower seeds after I mixed everything together in a food processor, I wanted to add a little nuttiness to the taste and had those lying around in the pantry. All in all a good recipe and I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is great recipe. Other reviewers mentioned needing an egg. I found that this wasn't really necessary. If you put the garbanzo beans in a food processor rather than just mashing them, it seems to hold together a lot better. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Definitely needs egg. I even tried an egg substitute, and it didn't work. Also, after many messy patties, I decided to spray a cookie sheet, place the patties on that and spray the top then bake at 420. (flipping after about 15 min) It was a good idea, healthier too. I also added some liquid smoke, and used a regular BBQ sauce. Extra firm tofu is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Photo by chadae
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I followed previous advice and added an egg and A1 sauce. I used wheat flour-didnt have any oat bran at hand. I added thyme instead of sage and some chopped onion, lawrys season salt to taste. I covered the pan after few minutes for the crispier burger-paired with wheat bun and home fries. Hubby gobbled it up and I did too (and Im not a vegetarian)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Giving this a modest 3 stars because of all the changes I had to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I was searching for a use for leftover chickpeas and rice and found this. I made it exactly as is... until I made the first practice patty. These won't stay together as burgers as-is. I took the rest of my 'dough' and kneaded in some gluten, which helped greatly. However, the spices/flavoring in the finished product was turned down way too low for us. With modifications this can be a winning burger, but as is, it was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Delicious! I just wish they would stay together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieScarlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It was delicious! I served it with Garlic Aioli and everyone ate it up so fast, they were going after the crumbs that were left over. I will definitely be making this again very soon. It was excellent as written, but maybe next time, I will try it with the egg, since I'm sure the egg will help it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States