All-Star Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Love it, but made a few little changes a usual. :) I had only kidney beans on hand. I added one little can of red beets, including juice, for color and flavor, and mixed it in a blender along with the tofu. I didn't add cooked rice because of the ingreased moisture from the beets. I added a whole cup of uncooked bulgur wheat(didn't have oat bran) and a whole cup of oats. I added a lot of Tex Mex spice and put it in the fridge overnight. The consistency was great the next day to shape little meatballs. They browned nicely and tasted great. To finalize it, I added a jar of tomato sauce and served it with pasta. Next time I will make it with oat bran and the BBQ sauce, which I didn't have either. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Delicious. I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Great flavor, but I would suggest using extra firm tofu. Otherwise the paties tend to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Yummy recipe! I will definetly make it again! I made it with ketchup mixed with a ground red pepper spice instead of the barbeque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PARKER71
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This All-Star Veggie Burger gets 5-stars! I am pleasantly surprised at how flavorful it turned out to be. Used all the ingredients listed except for the dried sage which is replaced with thyme. We froze the remaining patties and it works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I don't know that I liked these. The flavor was a little bland so I added some cumin and some taco seasoning which helped quite a bit. I'm not sure about their texture either. When they were in the pan they were blackening quite a bit on the outside and still seemed pretty raw on the inside. I made about half into patties and browned the rest like you would ground meat, and plan to put it on some salad later tomorrow, but I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Great recipe. I love the variety. Next time I make it I'll add one egg so that they don't fall apart when flipped. I cooked them on the griddle because they were burning in the frying pan. I couldn't find oat bran at the store so I used wheat germ instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Greetings everyone, I hope that you enjoy the recipe. Some recommendations to share, this was intended to be a vegan burger, but I recommend adding egg for those who are not strictly vegan. Also, when frying, after placing patty onto the pan, wait about a minute or two and then cover, so you can get the steam-fry effect, cripsy on the outside and moist (and cooked) on the inside. Thanks, again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
all star gets 5 stars! easy to make and taste good. I made it without oat bran and used more oats.i put it on a homemade whole wheat burger bun with mayo and ketchup and a slice of smoked provelone "veggie" cheese. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was a wonderful recipe that I would make again except that next time I would add a bit more egg to get the patties to stick together better I did use 1 egg but it wasn't enough, they fall apart very easily. I also used Tariaki sauce instead of the bar-b que sauce because I couldn't find the bar-b que sauce and it gave the burgers a tangy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States