All-Purpose Rub for Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was delicious! I did take the advise of many reviews to cut the salt, I used 1tbsp. I also cut the sugar because DH is diabetic (diet controlled) so to minimize the sugar I used 1tbsp white sugar and 1tbsp brown sugar (so I used half the sugar and that was still very tasty). We all loved it - I used it on drumsticks that we partially baked then finished on the grill, they came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
WAY TO MUCH SALT. Use only half the amound and I am sure it would have been better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I read the other reviews before I made this and followed the advice in those; I cut back to 3 tablespoons of salt and I cut half the sugar out and replaced it with brown sugar. I also added a half teaspoon of curry powder, as well. I used it for pork chops and it tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRaptorWhoMurderedLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Very good tasting rub! However, a slight variation worked better with pork. I used half the required amount of salt and used sea salt instead of regular salt. I also took one half of a dried pasilla-ancho chile and processed it, added it to the rub. Amazing smokiness, plus a little kick! If you want more kick try different dried chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daddy-amchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I cut this recipe in half. I bumped the oregano and thyme up to a half teaspoon and added a half teaspoon of sage. I only used a half teaspoon of salt, as we're watching our salt intake and I used 3 teaspoons of sugar. I used this to sprinkle on pork chops before frying. Husband thought it was great and my littlest who is the pickiest eater on the planet scarfed his helping and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
The rub was tasty but it made a real mess in the grill and the sugar carmelized and then burnt - adding a unique flavor to some of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I must have done something wrong. Has no flavor that I can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I use this all the time came out wonderful time and time agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is the absolute best rub for roasted chicken! I rub it all over a whole chicken, cut little slits in meatier areas and put it under the skin, and rub it all inside the cavity of the chicken. Then I bake it in a Stoneware Bundt pan with the cavity of the chicken over the center of the bundt pan. It's AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Everyone liked it, not one that made me go "WOW," but I'll be using again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States