All Purpose Lime Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This marinade was bland and I am deleting it from my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazlynn'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Exchange Group Recipe for the week of July 12th. We liked this fine, have no problems with the amount of lime juice. I didn't find that this marinade had a great deal of oomph, even though I marinated for more than 24 hours (flat iron steak, which is the only kind of steak we like). In the future I would vastly increase the ancho and add some garlic! But it is, as advertised, a simple marinade, & it isn't overwhelmingly Asian-flavored (despite the teriyaki and ginger), at least on beef. I served this steak sliced into a greenleaf salad topped with Gorgonzola, dried cherries, and almonds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was fantastic. Although i used regular chili powder, 1 tbsp and a little less lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LA Maldonado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Buda, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this for the Recipe Group and used it for chicken. What I especially liked about it was the fact I could grill the meat without having the marinade char. My chicken was in the marinade for 24 hours so I was a bit worried, but it was fine, you could taste the lime but it wasn't overwhelming. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I made this for recipe group. I tripled the recipe and marinaded 2 pork loin roast for 4 hours then grilled them. I made the recipe as directed but halfed the chile powder because hubby isn't a fan of heat. I must state that I was not very impressed, good lime flavour but not much else. No hint of the teriyaki and I feel that this recipe would be out of balance even with the extra chile powder because heat and acid don't balance well without sweet or creamy (oil)... The taste was very acidic and I countered that by reducing the marinade after removing the meat and straining out the other bits.. I added honey, a lot of honey and served it along side the meat. I probably won't make this again because other recipe serve me better.. Lots of lime, maybe some heat, if that punches your buttons carry on..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Made this for the Recipe Group the other night along with Spicy Lime Grilled Shrimp, also from this site, just to compare the two. We actually liked these a little better, but to be fair, I didn't put enough seasoning in the other one. This has a mild lime flavor (I used the amount of lime juice indicated), but I thought it was screaming out for some brown sugar. I also used a teriyaki baste and glaze product for my teriyaki sauce and used cayenne pepper, because I didn't have ancho chile powder. All in all this was ok, but nothing we got excited about, so I probably won't make it again. But, it's always fun to try! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
We really enjoyed this marinade! I used on a nice flat iron steak. I prepared exactly as written with the exception of just a litlle less lime juice than called for, a smidge over a 1/4 cup, and added some fresh lime zest. I will probably add a little fresh garlic next time, missed that taste, especially with beef. The lime taste really shines through, this would be great for marinating meat for fajitas. Thanks for your recipe, we liked this and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Nice! We had this as wirtten on grilled sirloins. Might add more chile powder/cayenne pepper for heat next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Pretty good. I was looking for a really "limey" marinade and this did ok. I used 3 fresh limes which made about the right amount per the recipe. However, I found it wasn't limey enough...next time I might use lime zest as well. You can leave out the green onions...there's enough onion and garlic in terriaki to cover that. And that amount of additional ginger seemed like overkill considering terriaki has ginger as well. I left most of the extra ginger out. As for amount of time in the actual marinade, 1 hour per side of CHICKEN breasts was perfect. However, for thinner cuts of BEEF/steak, I would cut that in half, as that amount of time started to pulverize the meat. If your steak is a thicker cut, you might get away with 45 or 60 minutes a side but no more than that! As for taste with the beef, it was perfect. So this recipe did ok for what it was supposed to be...however, I was looking for minimal garlic and onions and I should've remembered terraki is full of them. I think I might experiment with just plain lime juice (and a little zest) next time with the ginger?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelhlea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Get the Most Juice from a Lime

See how to get the most juice from even the stingiest lime.

Lime Juice

See all you can do with tart, refreshing lime juice.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States