All Protein Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Tasted just like my old recipe. Was a little salty but all in all very good low carb recipe. Great for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I made several modifications according to the other reviewers suggestions. Overall I was really pleased! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Since my husband and I are on the Herbalife diet plan I needed more protien and less calories. So, I made a few adjustments that boosted the protien to about 30 and lowered calories to around 300, as well as added a side dish. Use 1 lb. Ex.lean ground beef (93/7)and 1/2 lb. ground chicken. Replace eggs with 1/2 cup Southwestern egg beaters. Exchange plain porkskins for BBQ flavored and omit Chili powder. Replace garlic salt with fresh or jarred chopped garlic (helps reduce saltiness others complained about). Keep garlic pepper and add 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. I forgot the worchestershire and it was okay without it. Add about a 1/2 cup of finely choped onion. Mix well and form loaf. Put in retangular casserole dish. Bake as directed. About 20 minutes before meatloaf is finished remove from oven and add 2 cans french green beans and 1 can diced tomato around sides of loaf and coat top of loaf with a mixture of 1 sm. can tomato paste, 1 Tblsp. chilli sauce and 2 Tblsp. ketchup. Return to oven and finish baking. I recomend using a meat thermometer to make sure meat is thoroughly cooked. I served with a salad for a wonderful, tasty and healthy meal. My son didn't even know he was eating "diet" food, so everyone was happy. Thanks for a great recipie...this one is a keeper at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
I am interested in making this meatloaf but do not knkow what garlic pepper seasoning is?? Please help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
I gave this 5 stars because the no carb concept is great and with changes for our personal taste it turned out perfect. I left the chili powder out, added 1/2 teas. ground mustard, garlic powder instead of salt and used 1/2 ground chuck and 1/2 ground pork like I would for any meatloaf. Put a little more tomato sauce on top and YUM! Next time I might up the pork skins and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This recipe rates well for ease of preparation (my boyfriend made it on his own in less than 10 minutes -- and he DOES NOT COOK!); but it rates low for flavor due to an excess of chili powder (2.5 TBSP!!!) and salt. I'd follow LOWCARBGIRL's advice to not add any other salt outside the pork rinds. Being on Atkins, this one is a keeper so long as I replace some of the chili powder with other spices like thyme, oregano, parsley... The kids ate it, but noone asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Very flavorful meatloaf, everyone in my family loved it (even those not watching their carbs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I liked the recipe but 2 1/2 Tablespoons of chili powder?? Too HOT for me! I used a roughly a 1/4 of that and it came out great. Also, I used fresh garlic in place of the garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Many low-carb recipes use pork skins as a subsitute for bread crumbs. This is usually what makes the food so salty, not the garlic. Keep this in mind- I usually skip the salt all together and add a little fresh garlic or onion instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This recipe was a great idea! Was looking for low-carb recipes..perfect for us on that diet. Turkey chopped meat works great as well, try that. Didn't have the pork skins, so I chopped up pecans-sounds weird, but it's good. Ran out of worcestershire so I used lite teriyaki instead. The seasonings are good, but i substitute the garlic pepper with Adobo seasoning, adds great flavor. Also try adding some dried onion flakes. Then sprinkled shredded cheddar on top at the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States