All Protein Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Many low-carb recipes use pork skins as a subsitute for bread crumbs. This is usually what makes the food so salty, not the garlic. Keep this in mind- I usually skip the salt all together and add a little fresh garlic or onion instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
A great way to serve meatloaf with less fat and more protein. I did mine "Cheeseburger-style." I used 1 lb. extra lean beef and 1 lb. ground turkey, 3/4 cup cheddar cheese flavored pork rinds, 1/2 cup egg beaters instead of the 2 real eggs and Lawrey's seasoning. I layed it out on a sheet pan and topped it with 1/3 cup green onion and sliced low-fat American cheese on top, then rolled it up and baked it in a loaf pan for one hour at 375. Turned out so pretty and tasted fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
Meatloaf is very salty! I would use maybe just regular powered garlic next time instead of the seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Since my husband and I are on the Herbalife diet plan I needed more protien and less calories. So, I made a few adjustments that boosted the protien to about 30 and lowered calories to around 300, as well as added a side dish. Use 1 lb. Ex.lean ground beef (93/7)and 1/2 lb. ground chicken. Replace eggs with 1/2 cup Southwestern egg beaters. Exchange plain porkskins for BBQ flavored and omit Chili powder. Replace garlic salt with fresh or jarred chopped garlic (helps reduce saltiness others complained about). Keep garlic pepper and add 1/2 tsp. Italian seasoning. I forgot the worchestershire and it was okay without it. Add about a 1/2 cup of finely choped onion. Mix well and form loaf. Put in retangular casserole dish. Bake as directed. About 20 minutes before meatloaf is finished remove from oven and add 2 cans french green beans and 1 can diced tomato around sides of loaf and coat top of loaf with a mixture of 1 sm. can tomato paste, 1 Tblsp. chilli sauce and 2 Tblsp. ketchup. Return to oven and finish baking. I recomend using a meat thermometer to make sure meat is thoroughly cooked. I served with a salad for a wonderful, tasty and healthy meal. My son didn't even know he was eating "diet" food, so everyone was happy. Thanks for a great recipie...this one is a keeper at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I did as instructed and also made the following changes: omitted garlic salt and used 1 Tbsp garlic powder, 2 tsp minced garlic, BBQ flavored pork skins. Added 2 ounces of heavy cream, 1 Tbsp oregano, 1 Tbsp cayenne pepper, chopped green onion. Put half the amount of meat in the loaf pan then added 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese and then put the rest of the meat in the pan so the cheese is in the middle. (Got the idea from Emeril!). It came out so delicious and flavorful and very moist! The grease from the cheese does rise up making it look odd, but it is a great low carb dish that tasted excellent! Will be doing this one again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YayHeaven

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I love this recipe! I use ground turkey and I add basil and Italian seasoning! I also use spicy pork skins, being from the south, it really adds to the spices! It is a great meal for those watching their carbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This recipe rates well for ease of preparation (my boyfriend made it on his own in less than 10 minutes -- and he DOES NOT COOK!); but it rates low for flavor due to an excess of chili powder (2.5 TBSP!!!) and salt. I'd follow LOWCARBGIRL's advice to not add any other salt outside the pork rinds. Being on Atkins, this one is a keeper so long as I replace some of the chili powder with other spices like thyme, oregano, parsley... The kids ate it, but noone asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Did not form a loaf at all, and I used over a cup of crushed pork skins. Its close to a loosemeat than meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flinnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I never add the pork skins. Adding filler to meat loaf was started to make the meat stretch not in enhance the flavor. I add lots of chopped fresh mushrooms, onions, and red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This recipe is as good as any other meatloaf I've tried and this time it is lo-carb. I did reduce the amount of garlic salt to 1/2 teaspoon as others had complained of it being too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States