All Day Versatile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Just as all the other reviews say, this is THE basic red sauce recipe. It's great as is, and it's also versatile: add a lot of chopped flat-leaf parsley in the last hour; add bay leaves at the beginning (making sure to fish them out at the end!); add chopped fresh basil in the last hour; add red wine at the beginning and boil off the alcohol; throw in a rind of hard cheese. I would add one teeny suggestion: canned tomato sauce is already pretty cooked, and this is a long-cooked sauce. You may want to use whole peeled tomatoes, which you can either dice and use with the liquid, or whirl it in the blender. It's no big deal, but it is a far less-cooked product, suitable for long cooking in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Oh,boy,oh,boy,oh boy is this sauce good, no, wonderful! LIke so many other cooks, I can't resist a couple of little additions. I added a bunch,yes, a buch of chopped Italian parsely, some crushed red pepper flakes, and a pound of chopped mushrooms. Also, add a big pinch of baking soda to the sauce during the first hour of simmering. This makes for a very mellow, flavorful sauce. Make this sauce. It is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
excellent sauce, but use hearty bones if you intend to cook this in a crockpot, the neck bones fell apart and were almost impossible to remove from the sauce. a real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Excellent! This is what Italians' would call "gravy". I like to also brown several chicken pieces and add them to the sauce for even more flavor and then use the ground beef to make meatballs. Thanks Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was the best spaghetti sauce I've ever made! I've been looking for a real good homemade sauce and now I've found it. Everyone loved it! I couldn't find beef neck bones either, so I used 2 beef ribs. I also didn't use the ground beef because I served it with my homemade meatballs instead. I doubled the recipe and I'm going to freeze the rest. I'm passing this recipe on to all my friends. Easy and Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
What I have been looking for is a spaghetti sauce recipe. This recipe is just what the title suggests. It's "Versatile". The sauce can be used for a whole range of dishes, by adding or subtracting certain ingredients. By far, it is a great sauce. I added 2-1/2 teaspoons of salt, 2-1/2 tsp. dried basil,1/2 teaspoon pepper, 2 Bay leaves, and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes to the sauce. Some people suggested not adding the 3 cups of water--I added the water and put the lid on askew so steam could escape while the sauce simmered for 6 hours. My husband raved about the sauce. Thanks Nan, I finally have a sauce I can serve with pride.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is truly the most wonderful sauce! My new all-time favorite!!!! I have gotten dozens and dozens of recipes from allrecipes.com and this is BY FAR the one that got the best reaction! It is lick-the-plate good!! I did add 1/2 tsp. of celery salt...YUM! Make this and you will be hooked. Thank you for sharing this recipe NAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
I doubt I will ever seek a different recipe. This one's a DANDY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This is a great bolognese sauce. I could not, for the life of me, find beef neck bones in all of Massachusetts, and ended up using pork neck bones, which I thought worked just as well. The smell in the house was amazing. Cant wait to use this for lasagna later this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Very Simple, very Good Sauce. Now I can make a red sauce better than I ever thought I could. Very important to let it simmer at very low heat for several hours. I found that at the fifth hour, reducing the heat even more seemed to make it thicker by the 6th and final hour. Thanks! Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States