All Day Versatile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
The basics of this recipe is promising; however, it tastes completely flat and devoid of salt. It needs more meat (if it is to be a meat sauce) and the 3 cups water just ruins it. I have revamped this recipe and believe it is now "company worthy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
My whole family loved this recipe. I've been looking for the ultimate pasta sauce and so far I think this is the best. I've made it several times and just made a few additions. I add chopped fresh celery, some parsley (dried is fine) and bay leaf. If beef neckbones aren't available, pork neckbones will do fine. Keep the lid ajar if sauce seems too watery. I make this in a large batch and freeze some to have on hand for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
My husband said it was as good if not better than his mother. That right there put it at a 5 star, because I'm swedish and apparently, the swedish have no concept of good Italian food. I always thought I did until I met my husband and he informed me I was wrong. Quite delicious, and well worth the wait. I used country style pork chops instead of a neck bone because I couldn't find one. I also added some garlic powder, 2 extra cloves of garlic, Italien seasoning, a pinch of rosemary, and a little seasoning salt. big hit here and will definatly make this again. 2/23/2004-I've made this 3 or 4 times so far, and it's better and better each time. This time I used it to make Baked Ziti one night, and pasta and gravy another night. Mmm Mmm Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Couldn't resist trying this recipe. However I found it to be less than I had anticipated from reading all of the rave reviews. I'll continue my search for that elusive sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Oh wow!! This is SOOO good!! My roomates and I had a hard time waiting 6 hours for it to be done...we kept having to sneak in sample tastes. I did double the amount of garlic asked for...AND added a TON of garlic powder and some salt. Italian food is absolutley my favorite food in the whole world, and this will now be added to my collection of great dishes to make!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
this was so good, reminded me of sauce my grandma use to always make made this again for the 5th time. Added mushrooms and alittle bit of crushed peppers. didnt add ground beef this time but added some italian sausage. Everytime we make it, i wonder why we dont eat this everyday. If you make this and its not a 5. you did something wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
I couldn't find neck bones at my local grocery store either so I just used bone-in pork chops & then cut the meat off the bones before serving (well basically it just fell off). The pork was so tender & delicious. I also added homemade meatballs during the last two hours of simmering. We love basil so I added more than called for & threw in some parsley & grated romano cheese for some extra flavor. This was very good & I will use it again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
good basic recipe, neck bones really make a difference but are hard to find, it need a lot more spices for our personal taste though thnx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Very tasty! We have a bad habit of wasting food at our house. This sauce wasn't wasted AT ALL and gone before we knew it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
Just as all the other reviews say, this is THE basic red sauce recipe. It's great as is, and it's also versatile: add a lot of chopped flat-leaf parsley in the last hour; add bay leaves at the beginning (making sure to fish them out at the end!); add chopped fresh basil in the last hour; add red wine at the beginning and boil off the alcohol; throw in a rind of hard cheese. I would add one teeny suggestion: canned tomato sauce is already pretty cooked, and this is a long-cooked sauce. You may want to use whole peeled tomatoes, which you can either dice and use with the liquid, or whirl it in the blender. It's no big deal, but it is a far less-cooked product, suitable for long cooking in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States