All Day Versatile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I have used this recipe several times. I omit the neck bones. This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe. Very Very good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
What I have been looking for is a spaghetti sauce recipe. This recipe is just what the title suggests. It's "Versatile". The sauce can be used for a whole range of dishes, by adding or subtracting certain ingredients. By far, it is a great sauce. I added 2-1/2 teaspoons of salt, 2-1/2 tsp. dried basil,1/2 teaspoon pepper, 2 Bay leaves, and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes to the sauce. Some people suggested not adding the 3 cups of water--I added the water and put the lid on askew so steam could escape while the sauce simmered for 6 hours. My husband raved about the sauce. Thanks Nan, I finally have a sauce I can serve with pride.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was an excellent recipe. I added in flavourful brown mushrooms and ground beef (right at the start) as well as a little cooking wine, it was a very tasty dish indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This did not have nearly enough spices what so ever. I would recommend alot more oregano and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERBE6982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Combes, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
When eating the sauce, it was bland, and has way to much tomato taste. I had to add alot more oregano, parsley, and basil to the recipe for a much more flavored sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
My husband claims to have stumbled one day upon a little "hole-in-the-wall" restaurant, run by an old Italian gentleman who had pots of tomato sauce slowly simmering in his tiny kitchen; this gentleman claimed that a good sauce could only be made by slowly simmering the sauce for a few DAYS. My husband speaks lovingly of that sauce every time we try a new recipe. Until now. This is the closest we have ever come to that fabled sauce; in fact, this probably equals that paradigm of flavor since memory has probably elevated its hallowed qualities beyond truth. This recipe is rich, flavorful and oh so useful. Lasagna, meatballs, plain on spaghetti, even as a sauce for pizza, you can not go wrong. I made the recipe exactly as described but cooked it in a slow cooker with the lid askew for 10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I made this recipe without the pork bones and added ground sausage. I also omitted the water and it was just awesome! I made a lasagna with it for a baby shower and there was not a speck of food left in the dish. Thanks Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
We loved this sauce, I did only add about half the amount of water called for so it wasn't so runny. Delicious, thanks Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELLYGIRL23
Home Town: Sultan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States