All Day Versatile Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I did everything as written except had a little over a pound of pork neck bones, threw in two bay leaves and didn't add the optional ground burger. At the sixth hour of simmering it was the perfect consistency. Absolutely delicious and will be my 'go to' recipe. I could see that using a few pork ribs would work equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I came across this recipe because we bought a beef and I didn't know what to do with the neck bones, so I searched for recipes with neck bones as the ingredient and found this one. This turned out wonderful although I did change a few things a bit. I used about 1/2 an onion, and I used about 1.5 lbs of ground beef. I added a bay leaf and some extra basil and parsley. At first I only used 2 cups of water but after about 4 hours it was super thick so I added the 3rd cup. At 4 hours, I also removed the neck bones because they were starting to fall apart in the sauce. I highly recommend this, my whole family loved it, including my picky 3 yr old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is the closest recipe that I have ever found that is most like the spaghetti sauce that my father used to make. It is absolutley the best, very easy to adjust to whatever you are making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Perfect, just as is. Incredible, really. My only tip is to be sure to use a cheap, fatty cut of pork-- the fat melts away into the sauce giving it flavor and the perfect texture to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
THIS A SUPER BASIC RECIPE.EASY AND VERSATILE.I ADD A TBSP OF DARK BROWN SUGAR AND A TABLESPOON OF APPLE CIDER VINEGAR TO GIVE IT SOME "LAYERS" OF FLAVOR...AND FRESHLY GROUND BLACK PEPPER...DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rushinwonder1980

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Great sauce.. I used it on so much and not just pasta. I used it as a dipping sauce for my Stromboli and for my Gnocchi Bake. What an Italian night we had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Live Oak, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
very good! I added red wine and less water and a pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsfalgoutcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
It was really a bit too bland and too "tomato-y". I couldn't get the neck bones so I added extra ground beef, and even added 2 bell peppers to it. There was too much water so I had to cook the sauce for over 3 hours with the lid only half covering it so that the water could evaporate. It needs a bit more flavour so I had to add more basil, oregano, lots more parsely and even bit of salt and sugar. Was quite disappointed that it needed so many tweaks to make it tasty because the reviews really make it sound great. Still, it's a good jumping-off point for a basic sauce. Thanks anyway! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Sorry, but this is a very bland recipe. I could add different ingredients next time but then it simply wouldn't be the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States