All Day Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I make this at least once a week and my kids love it - it is gone immediately! I read some of the negative reviews and have some suggestions. First of all, this mac and cheese is an "eggy/custardy" type. If you think it is like creamy mac and cheese, your expectations will be different than what you get. Secondly, you really need to prepare it in an oblong, the larger crockpot. It makes all the difference in the consistency results. I tried the smaller circular crockpot and because it is deeper, it doesn't cook throughout - just doesn't work right and produces a different dish entirely. The oblong crock of course produces a thinner dish and as a result, it cooks throughout. Also it works much better if you cook on low throughout and don't try to speed things by cooking on high for the first hour. I live in NC and there is a cafeteria, (K&W) here that has mac and cheese just like this - when we moved here, it took a few visits to get used to it but my kids have grown up on the stuff. Also - I use reduced fat everything - milk, cheese, etc. Try the larger crock and you'll love the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
After reading other reviews and making the slow cooker lazagne, I decided to try this without cooking the elbow noodles at all. It turned out great! I also beat the eggs and then added the milk(s), cheese and other stuff. Try not cooking the noodles first, it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I have no idea why this got such bad reviews. My boyfriend and I loved this recipe! I read the other reviews and took some of their advice and added the noodles half cooked. I cooked the noodles for about 6-7 minutes then added it to the cheese mixture. I cooked the dish for 2 hours on high and got perfect results. The noodles were not mushy at all. And for you people that say that you prefer the velveta stuff or whatever, this is a custard style mac and cheese, it's not a cream style. It's supposed to be chunky! Be sure to scramble the eggs with the milks before you add the cheese and noodles, you won't get pieces of scrambled egg that way. Try it at least once if you like homemade mac and cheese. Don't cook it for 5 hours you'll probably get mush that way. About 2 hours on high is all you need. Thanks a lot for this recipe. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
OK...I made this to recipe specs the first time...not a good idea. First it was overdone and mushy, yet dry...lol. So, I added the pasta UNCOOKED the next time, but it still seemed overdone. So, 3 tries later, I cook it on high for about 2 hours and it is truly perfection!!! The ingredients are great..the method just needed fixing for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY KENNEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This turned out just as good as the baked version! I didn't cook the macaroni at all before putting it in the crock pot and used 1 egg. Will make again and again, my 3 yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
4 stars...needed some alteration. First..this is a baked style firm casserole dish. Keep that in mind, it's not creamy. I found the recipe great with the following alterations. I doubled it. I did not pre-cook mac. I was going for the "one pot" cleaning theory so I made it in the cooker bowl and I wanted to see what would happen if I was too lazy to dirty the cheese shreader (processor) so I cubed the cheese. It all worked fine. I used 1 - 16 oz block of cheese, half cheddar, half colby/Jack. With these changes, it turned out great! Add some beans and chicken and you'll have a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I was amazed at how good this turned out. I used 2% fat sharp cheddar and cooked this for about 4 hrs. 15 min. I felt the eggs an unnecessary ingredient. To bind the sauce I dissolved 1 T cornstarch into 2 T water then dumped that in with the other ingredients. For extra flavor, I will add dry mustard, dash nutmeg and worcestershire. I really enjoyed this and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I have used this recipe twice. I think it is delicious. The second time that I made it I did not put the last cup of cheese on top right away. I stirred it at least once every hour to prevent it from burning which several people commented on. This also allowed me to cook it for the full time which prevented the milk separation that some of you talked about. The last hour of cooking time I put the last cup of cheese on top. I used half mild cheddar and half sharp and added a little more salt. Definitely a recipe to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I'm not sure why there are so many bad reviews about this recipe...I was pretty wary when I made it after reading them the other day, but it turned out to be pretty delicious. We gobbled it up. I only cooked it for about 3.5-4 hours after so many people said it dried out. Next time I'll cook it for about 3-3.5 hours instead since the edges did overcook. May also eliminate one of the eggs since my husband likes the mushier mac, although I am happy with either kind. I also only used 3 cups of cheese since it just seemed like an awful lot to me. BTW, I feel like the person who found chunks of egg in her mac must not have premixed the ingredients as directed...I don' t know how else that could have happened. It was all perfectly blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
This wasn't bad, the consistency was different then what I am used to. I followed some suggestions from previous reviews. I used only 1 egg and whisked it in with the milk and used 5 1/2 cups of cheese. I will keep this just for the simple fact that if my oven is overloaded with other things I can makethis. It does need a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States