All Day Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I had made this twice, each time a little different. Sorry to say, this is not a dish I will make again. The first time I made this I, as other suggested, did not cook the pasta prior to added it to the crock pot and only added one egg and about a 1 1/2 cups extra milk. After four hours (good thing my DH forgot to turn it on before he left for work), it seemed almost perfect--nice and creamy. I added a little more milk and turned it to low to run a couple errands. It turned out to be one big pasta stuck together. With a little more milk right before serving to help loosen it up, mixing it well (realize the pasta is almost a mush at this point). It was okay. My 4 1/2 yo who lives for Mac and cheese (99% homemade) didn't eat all of it. The next time I made this, I did cook the pasta til al'dente. I omitted the egg and used 1/2 half and half and 1/2 milk, as well as the evap. milk. It did not turn out well at all without any recovery efforts. DS even said he didn't like it and didn't want to finish it. I was able to save it by putting it on the stove and adding more liquid to it, a little nutmeg and dry mustard. He gobbled it up. Seems like the family does not like the custard style Mac-N-Cheez.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I have made this twice now and loved it both times. The first time I cooked the macaroni halfway, the second time I didn't cook the macaroni at all. It came out better the second time. Each time I mixed it all up the night before and then just turned the crockpot on the next day. This is definitely a keeper recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Pretty good. The cook time was about 2.5 hrs for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Suggestion: I have found in my incredible search for the perfect mac and cheese that if I add just 4 - 6 ounces of Velveeta I always get the smooth creamy consistency of a great mac and cheese. I would leave out at least one egg in this recipe - chunk up the Velveeta right into the pot. Give it all a stir about 1/2 way through cooking time..... dont leave out any of the sharp cheese.....maybe a touch more pasta!!! MMMMMM good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Easy. I did not cook the noodles first, and cooked on high for just over 2-1/2 hours. Was custardy, not saucy, which is what I expected. I would definitely make again. I reheated the leftovers in the oven, sprinkled with a little more cheddar and some buttered bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I received my first crock pot for Christmats and after an initial chicken tortilla soup, I was convinced that it was going to change my life. Perhaps this over enthusiastic attitude has set undue expectations, but I thought this dish was very sub-par. It looked like dog food and the flavor just wasn't there. I'd stay away from this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The taste was very good, however i have to agree with all the others who said the noodles turned to mush. If i try this recipe again i think i will take the advice of others and use uncooked macaroni instead of cooked, maybe that will make a diffrence. I should add that i followed the recipe exactly as it is written here and the noodles were very soft, do in the end i put it all in a baking dish and put it in the oven in an attempt to make a crust on top...that did help a bit but not enough to save the dish. Thanks for sharing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rye, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is my favorite and everyone loves it. As one review said, it is not the normal consistency of a creamy mac & cheese. It is just way more awesome and even better if your lucky to get away with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Every family get together My gramma Lou Lou will ask me to bring this. It is the first dish that is gone even if I am the last one to arrive....Some times I bake it in the oven if I dont have all day to wait. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: North Norwich, New York, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States