All Day Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I used uncooked noodles as recomended by others & I also added two tablespoons of mustard to give it a bit more flavor. I let it sit on low until it turned golden brown then I added some chopped green onion on top because when I did a taste test it tasted bland. But that didn't help. I understand it was not supposed to come out creamy like regular macaroni and cheese however, this was not even comparable to a casseroll. It was extremely mushy and bland tasting. My husband and I ended up eating with hot sauce (siracha) which made it taste okay, mostly because all you could taste was the hot sauce. Its consistancy reminded me a lot of oatmeal. I dont think i will make this again, at least not in a slow cooker. I think it would be much better baked in an oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I made this because it looked easy, but being the spice lover I am, added some red pepper flakes, mustard, fresh ground pepper and parm cheese. My slow cooker is huge and has mulitple settings. Cooking it on low for 5 hours is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe, if you like custard style mac. The only change I made was to use whole wheat pasta instead of the regular kind. The first time I made it, I did not precook the pasta--as was suggested by other reviewers. I felt the mac turned out too dry. I precooked on the second time and it was delicious. Both times I added a little more cheese than was called for--sonme things just don't need exact measurement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Eh. This was just okay. I used a mixture of extra sharp Cheddar, provolone/mozzerella and a chipotle Cheddar. It was still bland. And, the egg and cheese was a little weird. Like having an omelette mixed in with your noodles. My younger son loved it, everyone else had a meh-attitude. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This is pretty good. Here is the tricks I found. Spray the crock pot with cooking spray first, I did not cook my noodles. I just put then in the crock hard. After 3-4 hours on low they were cooked and it was all creamy. If you keep your crock pot on longer, the whole thing will start to dry up, but I just added a bit of milk and it was fine. Now was this the best mac n cheese I ever made, no... but I give it a big thumbs up to make for a crowd.. no oven and can do it ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Burgart-Schrader

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Great! I forgot to reserve the cheese for the top and just mixed it all in....it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is a hit with my family! I have made this twice and both times it turned out creamy and so good! I make it the night before and refridgerate and do not cook the macaroni. I only use 1 egg and add extra milk and a half pound of cubed velveeta cheese. I do feel that you need to be around to stir while cooking. I doubled the recipe yesterday and it turned out great. Very easy. Kid friendly! They like to help with this one too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was good everyone liked it only it did not make very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Awesome! Just like the buffet serves. I took another reviews advise and used velveta (6-8 oz) and didn't cook the pasta first. I didn't have elbow mac so I used mini ziti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Just didn't like it. Not so much that it was bland, but it wasn't very cheesy. Also the edges got way overdone and the pasta was mushy, although I cooked for the minimum time stated. Thanks but I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States