All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made it exactly as recipe called for and thought it was good. Of course, I've never had apple butter before this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
So I was given 25 lbs of apples from a friends orchard and didn't know what to do with it. I (my husband really) 10 lbs last night and did half apple butter and half applesauce. I LOVED this recipe so much that we peeled and cored the rest and am making a double batch tonight. I start the crock on low the night before, and in the morning I use my hand held blender to make it kinda chunky, left the lid off on low for 6 hrs and has the perfect consistency, everybody in the house loved it so we just had to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I did this on the stove top. season as it cooked. one comment says the longer it cooks the better it tastes. this is very true. took me 3 days to cook. turning it off when i had to leave, and back on when i returned. day three i finished off the spices, then ran the "applesauce" type mixture through the blender. this made it very smooth. it was still thin. increased heat to a nice boil, stirring it every 15min to prevent burning. thickened just right! i started with two large stock pots full of cut apples. finished product was a little over half a large pot. reduction it the key. canned 11 1/2 pints and 5 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Love this recipe! I've made it for the last 3 years for Christmas presents - my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I just made this recipe and it turned out great, I did 2 cups of sugar, one white, one brown. Also squirted a little vanilla into it. I only got 5 half-pint jars and was a little disappointed in that but will just have to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I use apple pie spice instead of the individual ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
DELICIOUS! I used Honey Crisp apples, so the butter was a bit too sweet. My recommendation would be to reduce the sugar by 1/2 - 1 cup if you are using a sweeter apple. I used a total of just over 5 pounds of apple AFTER it was peeled, cored and sliced, and used my food processor to shred the apples. It make take longer than the last hour of uncovered cooking (took me 2), but you will know it's done when you put some on a regular dinner spoon and no liquid seeps out. I canned mine using a 10 minute hot water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday and all I can say is "Wow!" I used Granny Smith apples and 3 cups of sugar, and I did add allspice like some others suggested. I did not have to cook uncovered as it was really thick after the 9 hours on low. This recipe is a keeper. Prep takes some time, but I just sat peeling and cutting apples while watching Ina! Life is good, and this recipe is great! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Ive made this recipe many many times - i fill up 6qt crock pot full of apples - but put it on high stirring every hour and a half - then use mixer too puree it then keep cooking on high - after about 4 hours i crack the lid off alittle and it help to thicken as it cooks. total of about 8 - 9 hours Best recipe i have found - i use three different varieties of apples for best flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I ended up only getting 7 half pint jars out of the recipe, and followed the canning time of another reviewer, leaving in a water bath for 30 min. I left 1/4" headspace, but may leave a litte more next time. Set it up to cook overnight, with a stir before bed and constant stiring in the morning and it was fantastic. Planning to use as xmas gifts all around, and hopefully will be using this one to make Pear Butter as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States