All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I used honeycrisp apples and added virtually no sugar, maybe a 1/3c, but I did add a dash of allspice. My 13 y/o even approved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I used one cup of sugar instead of the four called for in the recipe and used Gala apples. Since I used three cups less of sugar, I ended up with five cups of apple butter at the end. I'm really glad that I only used one cup; reading the reviews made me suspect that four cups would be way too much, and one cup ended up being perfect. Adjust the sweetness to your tastes, but don't be surprised like I was when your yield decreases! I was so disappointed when I ended up with four 8-oz jars to can, and one partially full jar for the fridge. Still very yummy, but seemed like a sparse reward for so much time spent on the apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
The recipe is definitely delicious but a few things I would say you need to do.cut the sugar in half I feel it's way to sweet.i had to water mine down some to take away some of the sweetness.i also cooked it all day about 16hrs.then put it in the refrigerator over night.then cooked it for 7hrs the next day with the lid off in medium and it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I used 1 1/2 cups each of white and brown sugar, kept spices the same, and used 9-10lbs of apples. Cooked it the same way Canned in hot water bath-amazingly good. After it cooked 12 hrs, I pureed it and cooked uncovered for additional 4 hrs. Just finished my 4th batch(holidays coming)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Love this recipe. It taste so good. Just need to know if you can can and place on a shelf instead of in the freezer or refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was the first time I ever made Applebutter I have an apple tree in my front yard so I went out picked a whole bunch of apples my whole house smelled like apple pie the whole day and the Applebutter itself turned out delicious it kind of taste a little bit like apple pie apple sauce I eat it on almost everything. I made enough to share with my family and they ate it up in the first day and now they can't wait until next time I can make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Sugar adjusted according to apples used and personal taste. Easy and cans well. Have family requesting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Wow! This was so incredibly easy to make and reminds me of the apple butter my grandma made when I was a kid. My family LOVES it. I filled the crock pot with a mixture of apples we had picked that ended up beat up or bruised. I followed others suggestions and cut back the sugar. I used 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown. It is fabulous and the house smells divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My kids and I made this to go with our lesson on Johnny Appleseed. This was very simple and came out great! We doubled the cinnamon, added allspice and nutmeg and reduced the white sugar to 1.5c and added 1c of brown sugar. Our crock pot would not hold all 5.5lbs of chopped apples, so we were only able to get about 2.5 pints apple butter after all was said and done. It did take about 16 hours for the total cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States