All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Near Lexington, Kentucky are several orchards. One of the things that makes old time apple butter is to use fragrant apples right off the tree! It is a great way to preserve a large harvest especially with rising food cost. One of the ways that I core a large number of apples is to cut the apple in half and use the small end of a mellon baller to remove the seed core. I only remove a shallow half ball to conserve the apple. This is a great recipe, I cook mine in a slow cooker on low. I will probably have a hard time sleeping because of the great smell filling the house. When I "can", I use a digital thermometer right down the center to insure it is over 160 degrees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I added a regular size can of plain pumpkin to this and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Made this and had so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I used a mixture of white and brown sugar adding up to about 3 cups, and I also added nutmeg at the beginning. About one hour before it was finished, I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I whipped it with a hand mixer when it was done to get a smoother consistency. It was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I didn't have enough apples to make the large batch, so I had to 1/4th the recipe, but I figured it would still work. I think it did, although I'm not sure what it's actually supposed to be like. Anyway, it turned out really dark and almost gel-like and I was really hoping for it to turn out lighter like the picture. Also, next time I think I will pulverize the apples somehow so that it comes out smoother, with less apple bits. Anyway, it came out alright, but I don't know if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This has been in my crock pot all day, and is delicious! Way darker than in the picture, but rich and warm tasting. It still needs to reduce a bit, I'm almost to 12 hrs. cooking time. I did take the apples out after 8 hrs and put them in the food processor to make a smooth apple butter. I'm happy I tried this and can't wait to make more for gifts this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Exceptional! So easy - didn't have to strain or sieve anything. And I used a food processor to finely chop, so that went really fast. Added some Penzey's cake spice, too, and extra of the rest. Wonderfully spiced and delicious! I also added about 1 cup of apple juice and 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar, but that meant I needed to leave the lid off for around 1.5-2 hours, instead of just the 1 at the end. Oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe is just like the one in the Blue Book of canning. Only thing different is the salt. No need for it. Just makes it a bit more unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Our favorite way of using all the apples our trees produce. The spice is perfect. It ends up lovely and thick from the slow cooking. Best of all you don't have to stand over the stove stirring! I've both canned and frozen this apple butter. Great either way. Serve it with pork roast. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Good but very sweet. I made this with a combination of granny smith & fuji apples and used only 2 cups of sugar (so glad I did because even with that much sugar it was very sweet!) That is why the 4 star rating, if made as directed it would have been much to sweet to eat. I also put this on to cook at noon and then cooked it until the next morning. After taking the lid off it took a few hours to become thick enough to can. Used a hot water bath as mentioned by another reviewer. Good base recipe but start with less sugar and adjust to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States