All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I went outside and picked 8 apples and made myself up some Apple Butter with this recipe. LOVED that it was done with a crock pot! I also just added 2 cups sugar but I did add about 1/4 cup brown sugar. It is DEELICIOUS! I did what someone else said, and used my hand held blender to chop up more but did leave with a few apple small chunks which I love on my toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I just made this yesterday for the first time. It was so easy. I made mine with a mix of Gala, Granny Smith and Jazz apples. After reading some reviews that recommended a mixI thought I'd give it a try. Well it was a good recommendation! I also added a little bit of allspice and vanilla. I did cut back on the sugar because there are diabetics in this home and really I'd rather taste the apples not the sugar. I made mine in a 3qt crock pot so I couldn't make the full batch but that was no problem. I used a half cup white sugar and half cup light brown sugar. I found that it was not necessary to use a food processor or blender. I just used a whisk when I stirred it and then for a few minutes at the end right before I jarred then. It was very smooth. I put them in a water bath for just about 15 mins. I will definitely be making apple butter again using the basics of this recipe. Would definitely recommend this for a beginner or a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Great recipe, I pour this recipe on top of tart apples add real butter and more spices make a yummy apple pie. or apple turnovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Wonderful taste and texture. You need not puree or mill the apples before making it, as others have suggested. After the cook for so long, the whisk the author mentioned is enough to get a lovely texture. This is a great, inexpensive treat to include in home-made Christmas or other holiday gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, and it is to die for! But the first time I made it with the 4 cups of sugar and found it was WAY too sweet. So the next several times I made with half or less and it was wonderful! As for peeling the apples.....forget that! I use organic apples only, so I simply wash them. If you core and slice them with a pampered chef slicer, or similar, it makes things go very quickly! Then, after slow cooking for the entire day, or overnight, you can use a quality immersion blender and you'll never know you left the peels on! And, you've added some extra healthy fiber to your diet! Trust me....no need to peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is the first time I made apple butter and it turn out great the family love's it . I am going to give some to friends and family. The only thing I did different was I added 3 cups of sugar instead of 4 its not a sweet . We love it. Thank You Rebecca Bradley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was ok. I think it had WAY too much cinnamon in it - it was quite overpowering. I'd also cut the sugar by at least 1/4 as it was so sweet we ended up throwing it out after a while. It was just too sweet to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I am an apple butter addict. Seriously, I love the stuff. I wanted to make my own and I finally worked up the courage to do it this past weekend. This recipe was perfect! It was easy and didn't involve standing over a hot stove--which was great, since it was 95 degrees in my apartment this weekend. I halved the recipe and modified it a little (both on purpose and accidentally). I substituted half of the white sugar for brown, since that's just how I like my apple products. I also added twice the amount of cloves (by accident), the result of the labels on my measuring spoons being nearly worn away. But even though my apartment smelled like Christmas, it wasn't overpowering in the final product. I didn't find it too sweet, but I have a huge sweet tooth. I could not stop making toast to spread this on! I probably should have cut down the cook time as well; I ended up with only one pint of really strong apple butter. But it's delicious and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
So easy and delicious! It's hard to find apple butter in NZ but tankfull now that I have this recipe, I always have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by david
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
wonderful flavor the only problem i had was i had to use my blender to smooth it out. but other than that it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States