All Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious! We followed the recommendations of other reviewers and halved the amount of sugar to two cups. We also needed to continue cooking, uncovered, for an additional seven hours (step four took us eight hours, not one hour, to thicken to the desired consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My boyfriend and I made this and it is delicious! Not to mention our house smelled fabulous while the apples and cinnamon were in the slow cooker. We used semi-tart apples, and added a pinch more sugar, and didn't used clove (mainly because we didn't have any and already had everything in the slow cooker). It didn't seem to change the taste though. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katigurl2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Most EXCELENT! My house shall never be without HOMEMADE Apple Butter again! I used less sugar, and should have even used a little less even. I did 4lbs of Granny Smith Apples and 1lb of Fiji Apples with 3 Cups sugar - next time, I will start off with 2 cups sugar and add more as needed to taste - this is going on my Christmas gift list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Tasty but way too much sugar. I will try again with more apples and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHfromNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with small apple bits burnt to the bottom of my crockpot with 2 of the 9 cooking hours left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This makes a wonderful apple butter. It is quite sweet, but not so much to make it cloying. The applesauce halfway through cooking isn't half bad either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
An absolute winner. Made as written except I used only 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup honey and 1/2 cup agave. Turned out beautifully and I did not peel my apples. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
So good!! I had mine done in about 7 hours because I was really excited and couldn't wait the 11+ hours. lol I kept my crock pot on high for about 3 hours and then turned it to low for the remainder. I used a blend of Pink Lady and Gala apples so I cut the sugar back to 2 cups. I recommend tasting all along the way and adjusting the sugar and spices as needed. Amazing! Never would have guessed that it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I loved this recipe. Though I use less sugar and found it just as easy to cook on stovetop for about half the time. Great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States