All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I just made this and it is great!! I used gala apples so I cut the sugar to 2 cups! I also added 1/4 tsp of allspice and 1/8 tsp of ground nutmeg!! THe kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Just finished our first batch and it turned out great! Very easy, we cut the sugar in half, used cortland apples, and added 1/4 tsp all spice. It's the best we've ever made. The second batch starts tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
4 cups of sugar was way too much. I made this as a gift and for us, but it was very, very sweet. I would use maybe 2 cups instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was amazing. I like this pretty sweet, but only used two cups of sugar and a variety of apples and it's excellent. It definitely made more than I thought it would though (probably about a quart?) so I'll be freezing a lot of it. This would be a great gift in a cute mason jar at Christmastime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I used this recipe to get started on my own method, but I do a couple things differently: 1) No sugar needed for me! (Hello, apples already have a ton of it, so I don't understand everyone's need to add it, but I guess that's just me. I like it more spicy and nuanced.) 2) When it's done cooking in the slow cooker, I set a big mixing bowl in the sink, set a fine mesh strainer on top of that, and slowly pour the apples from the crockpot so that the apple pulp stays in the strainer and the bowl catches...you guessed it: concentrated apple cider! I put the apple butter in a bowl and blend till smooth with my immersion blender. The 'cider' can be kept in a container in the fridge and when you fancy a cup of cider, pour into a mug about halfway full, and add about the same amount of water (or 2/3rds) and heat up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made it exactly as recipe called for and thought it was good. Of course, I've never had apple butter before this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
So I was given 25 lbs of apples from a friends orchard and didn't know what to do with it. I (my husband really) 10 lbs last night and did half apple butter and half applesauce. I LOVED this recipe so much that we peeled and cored the rest and am making a double batch tonight. I start the crock on low the night before, and in the morning I use my hand held blender to make it kinda chunky, left the lid off on low for 6 hrs and has the perfect consistency, everybody in the house loved it so we just had to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I did this on the stove top. season as it cooked. one comment says the longer it cooks the better it tastes. this is very true. took me 3 days to cook. turning it off when i had to leave, and back on when i returned. day three i finished off the spices, then ran the "applesauce" type mixture through the blender. this made it very smooth. it was still thin. increased heat to a nice boil, stirring it every 15min to prevent burning. thickened just right! i started with two large stock pots full of cut apples. finished product was a little over half a large pot. reduction it the key. canned 11 1/2 pints and 5 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Love this recipe! I've made it for the last 3 years for Christmas presents - my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I just made this recipe and it turned out great, I did 2 cups of sugar, one white, one brown. Also squirted a little vanilla into it. I only got 5 half-pint jars and was a little disappointed in that but will just have to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States