All Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Wonderful taste and texture. You need not puree or mill the apples before making it, as others have suggested. After the cook for so long, the whisk the author mentioned is enough to get a lovely texture. This is a great, inexpensive treat to include in home-made Christmas or other holiday gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, and it is to die for! But the first time I made it with the 4 cups of sugar and found it was WAY too sweet. So the next several times I made with half or less and it was wonderful! As for peeling the apples.....forget that! I use organic apples only, so I simply wash them. If you core and slice them with a pampered chef slicer, or similar, it makes things go very quickly! Then, after slow cooking for the entire day, or overnight, you can use a quality immersion blender and you'll never know you left the peels on! And, you've added some extra healthy fiber to your diet! Trust me....no need to peel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is the first time I made apple butter and it turn out great the family love's it . I am going to give some to friends and family. The only thing I did different was I added 3 cups of sugar instead of 4 its not a sweet . We love it. Thank You Rebecca Bradley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was ok. I think it had WAY too much cinnamon in it - it was quite overpowering. I'd also cut the sugar by at least 1/4 as it was so sweet we ended up throwing it out after a while. It was just too sweet to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I am an apple butter addict. Seriously, I love the stuff. I wanted to make my own and I finally worked up the courage to do it this past weekend. This recipe was perfect! It was easy and didn't involve standing over a hot stove--which was great, since it was 95 degrees in my apartment this weekend. I halved the recipe and modified it a little (both on purpose and accidentally). I substituted half of the white sugar for brown, since that's just how I like my apple products. I also added twice the amount of cloves (by accident), the result of the labels on my measuring spoons being nearly worn away. But even though my apartment smelled like Christmas, it wasn't overpowering in the final product. I didn't find it too sweet, but I have a huge sweet tooth. I could not stop making toast to spread this on! I probably should have cut down the cook time as well; I ended up with only one pint of really strong apple butter. But it's delicious and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
So easy and delicious! It's hard to find apple butter in NZ but tankfull now that I have this recipe, I always have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by david
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
wonderful flavor the only problem i had was i had to use my blender to smooth it out. but other than that it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I never made apple butter before but I got curious when I saw it on TV... oh wow it's really good. REALLY good. Though it came out more like jelly or applesauce... I don't care. The taste is amazing. Thank you for this. It's great. I can't wait to share this with people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfreemer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Easy and delicious. I used half the amount of sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States