All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
The best apple butter ever! I cut the sugar in half (to 2 cups total), and used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is delicious! I love using the crockpot and this is a great recipe! I used two different types of apples, golden delicious and granny smith. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkueny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This is a great idea. I made it with no sugar, no added sweeteners, but used a variety of mostly sweet apples. I made a much smaller batch, and it worked fine. I had to add water a couple of times, and did not need to uncover. I used a hand blender at the end to get the right consistency. So good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
My very first canning experience and it turned out pretty good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Really great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I just bought a home that has an apple tree and I have no idea what kind of apples they are, but they're small, red and quite tart. Still, I used half the sugar, and used equal parts brown and granulated sugar. I also used 2 tablespoons pumpkin pie spice in place of cinnamon and cloves. Rather than the slow cooker, I cooked this in a heavy saucepan on medium heat for 1 hour, stirring occasionally. Then, I reduced heat to simmer and covered, cooking for 8 hours, stirring every few hours. Then, the last hour, I cooked the apple butter uncovered and allowed the liquid to reduce until almost completely gone. I used an immersion blender to grind up the peel (I never peel my apples for apple butter and my immersion blender makes it a non-issue). This apple butter turned out like a caramel, spiced candy apple butter and it's DIVINE. This recipe inspired me, though clearly I didn't follow it at all. lol Enjoy - this would make great holiday gifts. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
A family hit! This was my first time making (and tasting) apple butter so I went in blindfolded on this one. I used Figi apples and followed the advice of some other reviews to pop the apples in the food processor to remove any lumps. Cook it until you think it's done...then cook it some more. As long as it's in low you can't burn it and it tastes divine. I spread it on some homemade banana bread and it was heaven :-d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
We loved our apple butter. I used pretty tart apples and the first time and it turned out great. I also did another batch later in the year when our apples were sweeter and the full amount of sugar which was also very good - I prefer the more tart apples or sweeter apples with a little less sugar, but I think it just depends on your personal taste. Firmer apples need to cook a bit longer it seems, but it also depends on how small you chop the apples. Very good simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great! Adjusted spices to my liking - left some peels in with apples - hint! Peel contains pectin which will thicken butter naturally - used stick blender after finished cooking - smooth as silk! Also sub some brown sugar fnstead of all white for richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States