All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Used twice. Best apple butter in the world. My one friend said it was like a drug. She couldnt stop eating it. I use brown sugar. I think it makes it thicker and richer. Im making some for Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin65

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
FANTASTIC RECIPE!!! Like everyone else I went with only 2 cups of auger and it was quite fine. An added benefit of this recipe is your house smells awesome all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the recipe that began my love affair with allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
made this recipe about 3 weeks ago and it was a big hit in our house and OH SO EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I used 1 cup Of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar and that was plenty. I made two batches - the first batch I followed the cooking directions and it took 13 hours. The second batch I cooked it on high for 70 minutes on the beginning with the lid on, them 6 hours on low with the lid on and then 2 hours on high with the lid off. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Having a big box of mountain apples to use, I decided to make this recipe yesterday. It is fantastic! Once the initial chopping is done, it is nice to just throw everything in the crockpot and let it cook all day.It is also nice that the recipe calls for ingredients I keep on hand, no trip to the store necessary. I did place the apple butter in jars and processed for 20 minutes in a canner in order to keep on a shelf instead of freezer. Nice way to make gifts for Christmas, etc. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I love the apple butter. My daughter made a mistake and added 1 tsp of cloves instead of 1/4 tsp. It was DELICIOUS. I've made the adjustment to make it like that from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was over all a good recipe but it was way to sugary for me. My kids on the other hand love it lol. I think next time I will only use half the amount of sugar or use more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used golden delicious apples so I cut the sugar in half. Otherwise followed the recipe. Great apple butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I've been making apple butter for 3 days now and the house smells great! This recipe is easy because you don't have to babysit the butter. However, it does keep you involved for a full 24 hours from start to finish if canning the butter. On the up-side, it is very flavorful! I opted to follow other reviewers suggestions and added more spices; 1/2 t. allspice, 1/2 t. ginger, 1/2 t. nutmeg and cut the sugar down to 1 3/4 cups (1 c. brown sugar and 3/4 c. white sugar). It is so sweet and so good! I found to get the thick consistency, I had to keep it in the crockpot for many more hours than written. 1 hour on high (lid on), approx. 12 hours on low (overnight) and then approx. 6-8 more hours with the lid off. I did not need an immersion blender, I was able to whisk the butter easily into the desired consistency of apple butter. I only got 3 pint-sized jars from the 5 1/2 pounds that the recipe calls for...that's why I've been working at this for 3 days. As soon as I can 1 batch, I start another one, as it takes 24 hours. I plan to give these as part of my Christmas gifts and hostess gifts for the many gatherings ahead in the holiday season. I do love the recipe and will probably always prepare the apples from my tree in this manner. I makes me think of the great products my mother used to make from the tree when we were little. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 802) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States