All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I think this recipe deserves 5 stars just for the sheer genius of employing the slow cooker - having spent many an afternoon babysitting a pot of apple butter to make sure it didn't burn or splatter my stovetop and kitchen counter, it was *so* nice to be able to load the apples into the slow cooker, set it on low or warm, check on it and stir it occasionally, and know I could leave it for a few hours on warm if I wasn't ready to can it yet. The slow cooker and my hand-crank apple peeler/corer/slicer gizmo have made it super-easy to turn my backyard apples into yummy apple butter. Here's what I did: peeled/cored/sliced enough apples to fill my cooker (probably about 5 lbs), added 2 c sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon, and set cooker on "warm" overnight. In the morning, checked on it, stirred it, turned heat up to "low", kept it simmering, tasted to see if it needed more sugar, turned it back to "warm" when I had to leave the house for a couple hours, came back, alternated heat settings between "warm" and "low" and stirred occasionally until it looked ready to puree with the immersion blender, then let it continue simmering with lid off, stirring occasionally, until it looked thick enough for canning. And by this time the apples have concentrated down enough that the splashes from the thick bubbling apple butter are contained within the walls of the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very sweet!! I like to make a recipe as written the first time and then I will change it to our tastes. Wonderful flavor, just too sweet, and needed way more time to break down the apples. I ended up putting it into our Magic Bullet to puree then put it back into the crock to thicken. Will definitely make this again though! Put it into the crock the night before and let it cook away while you sleep and even continue while you go to work. Longer does not hurt the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this last night and it was wonderful! We started with Golden Delicious apples from our neighbor's tree that were on the sweet side so I cut the sugar to 3 cups and I'm so glad I did... the entire amount of sugar would have been way too sweet. I also omitted the cloves as I didn't have any, but grated in maybe 1/2 tsp fresh nutmeg. I started with a full crockput and after 12 hours the mixture was reduced by about half and nice and dark and thick. Cooked for another hour with the lid off and ran my immersion blender through it. Made 8 half pint jars. I still have 4 bushels of apples left on my table so I will definitely be making more. It beats any apple butter I've ever bought in a store and aside from all the peeling and chopping, couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made just as it is. Tasted awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This is the best apple butter recipe EVER! I cut the sugar back to a total of 2-1/2 C. using 2 C brown sugar and 1/2 C white. I hit it with my immersion blender to get it smooth and silky. This beats my old recipe where I had to cook the apples down with apple juice, then puree in the food processor (which never got it as smooth as this one), then put it back in the pot to cook for hours. I start this one at night, and by the next morning I'm ready to finish and put up in jars. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKYKAMP2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I have tried this recipe before finding it on the web; but I never used sugar. hum; wonder why or what makes the difference. Any ideas, all are welcomed. Also wonder if I add a little pectin if it would give it a bit of a "jam" texture? I made this again last night and used 1 1/2 cups of sugar & 1/2 cup of honey. The consistency is great. Looking forward to ideas on the pectin, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This turned out well, with a few adjustments. I added only 2 cups of sugar instead of 4, and once the lid came off it took more like 6 hours to finally thicken enough. maybe straining it would get the same affect, I might try that if I make it again. Overall a good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I have been using this recipe for about 6 months now, every time I have a bag of apples that is about to have to be thrown away, I pull out the crockpot. Family and friends rave about it, and have gotten to where they request more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
tried 3 different recipes for crockpot this is the best! Also shorter cooking time than others. use hand blender to get smooth consistency . I did cut sugar in half and used more apples. making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Super easy and really tasty! I added 1 teaspoon of ground all spice, and also about a 1/2 teaspoon extra of ground cinnamon. I reduced the sugar to 3 1/2 cups, next time I'll reduce it to a total of 3 cups. I love sweets, and I still think this was a little to sweet. Towards the end, I whisked it vigorously, and when it was cool, I used a hand mixer to reduce the lumps further. This recipe is a winner in my book! I also posted a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 829) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States