All Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This was over all a good recipe but it was way to sugary for me. My kids on the other hand love it lol. I think next time I will only use half the amount of sugar or use more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I used golden delicious apples so I cut the sugar in half. Otherwise followed the recipe. Great apple butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I've been making apple butter for 3 days now and the house smells great! This recipe is easy because you don't have to babysit the butter. However, it does keep you involved for a full 24 hours from start to finish if canning the butter. On the up-side, it is very flavorful! I opted to follow other reviewers suggestions and added more spices; 1/2 t. allspice, 1/2 t. ginger, 1/2 t. nutmeg and cut the sugar down to 1 3/4 cups (1 c. brown sugar and 3/4 c. white sugar). It is so sweet and so good! I found to get the thick consistency, I had to keep it in the crockpot for many more hours than written. 1 hour on high (lid on), approx. 12 hours on low (overnight) and then approx. 6-8 more hours with the lid off. I did not need an immersion blender, I was able to whisk the butter easily into the desired consistency of apple butter. I only got 3 pint-sized jars from the 5 1/2 pounds that the recipe calls for...that's why I've been working at this for 3 days. As soon as I can 1 batch, I start another one, as it takes 24 hours. I plan to give these as part of my Christmas gifts and hostess gifts for the many gatherings ahead in the holiday season. I do love the recipe and will probably always prepare the apples from my tree in this manner. I makes me think of the great products my mother used to make from the tree when we were little. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
When I made my apple butter I cut the sugar in half and used stvia for the other two cups of sugar all of my diabetic friends loved having apple butter again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Berryville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I cooked it for 11 hours. First three hours on high, then turned down to low. I added an extra teaspoon of cinnamon. Then blended with an immersion blender to make it smooth. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Great idea! I added more spices (allspice & mace). I also had to add lemon juice, as I thought this was too sweet. After cooking all night, I put pureed the apple pieces in my blender and returned it to the crock pot to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
By far the best apple butter I have ever tasted in my life! I did everything the way the recipe said as far as ingredients, but I only sliced my apples thin and they cooked down perfectly to make a nice thick sauce. I cooked it from 8 am until 6 pm. I filled my family size crock pot to the top which is 5-5 1/2 pounds of apples. Let it cook all day......the house smelled heavenly! My kids came running out of their room in the morning to see what I was cooking. I didn't have any pint jars and this recipe filled two quart size canning jars perfectly. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Used this basic recipe and added what I wanted. Used 1 & 1/2 C brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar. Spices I used cinnamon, pumpkin spice & all spice. I don't measure that just do it to taste. Did keep it light with all spice. Also used hand blender to smooth. Filled a 6qt. crock pot let it cook part way down and added more apples. Large brown grocery sack full of apples - macintosh I believe. Tastes delicious/canned 14 1/2 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I just made this and it is great!! I used gala apples so I cut the sugar to 2 cups! I also added 1/4 tsp of allspice and 1/8 tsp of ground nutmeg!! THe kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Just finished our first batch and it turned out great! Very easy, we cut the sugar in half, used cortland apples, and added 1/4 tsp all spice. It's the best we've ever made. The second batch starts tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States