All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We needed to use up some apples and I was scrambling to find recipe was it. Lots of flavour. Takes a little time but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as was given, and it was a huge hit! Took some of it home to family, and they all loved it!! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Very simple and easy recipe. A few helpful hints for those that are making apple butter for the first time. 1. Look at your choice of apples before peeling. Some apples are tart, sweet, crisp, soft… some are ideal for baking and others for eating. The sweeter the apple the less sugar you will want to put in your butter. So make sure and taste your apple before you put your sugar and spices and everything nice in the pot. 2. Peel, then use your kitchen gadget to core and slice at once. No need to finely chop it will cook down then you can use a stick blender if you need. 3. I use a cheap slow cooker and I have found that it takes longer for my butter to “thicken” up after the hour uncovered. I cook mine uncovered on high for an hour, and then move to low for another hour or so. Stir that bad boy and you can visually see when that butter is ready even before doing the “test” 4. Do the “Test”, put your saucer in the freezer an hour or so before your butter is ready. After taking the cold saucer out, put a small teaspoon of the butter on the plate. If your butter is runny, then keep cooking, you are not ready to jar it up. Once it mounds up and trust me you will know what I mean when you see it, then you can jar that yummy goodness up :D 5. And last but not least, PLEASE, taste your butter as it is cooking. Before you thicken it up you can add a lil of this and that to make it just perfect for YOUR tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi Ilundaria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, County Londonderry, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Suring, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have never tried this stuff before but it was great! I had to cook it a lot longer then it said here until it was thick enough but all in all it was awesome, instead of using all white sugar I used 1 cup brown sugar instead, I ran out of white sugar but it still turned out great! It smelled great was a bit nervious to try at first but I Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I think that everyone's sweetness issues are due to the apples they are using. If you use a sweet apple like a red or golden delicious, likely 1C sugar will be enough. If you use a tart cooking apple up to 4C May be necessary to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Absolutely marvelous recipe! Thank you. Also thanks to other reviewers with such tips as cook until it mounds on a test spoon, and to cook till there is no liquid that forms around the mound. I made it with home -grown, hardy prairie apples from our tree - much like MacIntoshes. Will try with our much more tart yellow apples next time to experiment with different apple sweetness. Happy cooking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Near Lexington, Kentucky are several orchards. One of the things that makes old time apple butter is to use fragrant apples right off the tree! It is a great way to preserve a large harvest especially with rising food cost. One of the ways that I core a large number of apples is to cut the apple in half and use the small end of a mellon baller to remove the seed core. I only remove a shallow half ball to conserve the apple. This is a great recipe, I cook mine in a slow cooker on low. I will probably have a hard time sleeping because of the great smell filling the house. When I "can", I use a digital thermometer right down the center to insure it is over 160 degrees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I added a regular size can of plain pumpkin to this and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Made this and had so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I used a mixture of white and brown sugar adding up to about 3 cups, and I also added nutmeg at the beginning. About one hour before it was finished, I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I whipped it with a hand mixer when it was done to get a smoother consistency. It was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States