All Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Love it! Best apple butter that I have ever had! I used a variety of apples I'd just picked and added a 1/4 cup brown sugar and pinch of all spice. I also mushed the apples with a potatoe masher when 3 hours remained whcih helped speed the process then I took it off about an hour early. It thickens as it sets in the jar. Definately recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! My friends and family love the apple butter and can not get enough of it. I don't usually measure my apples, I just fill my crock pot and add the other ingredients. I only use 2 cups of sugar and usually use heaping teaspoons of cinnamon. I always can most of the apple butter and make the recipe multiple times in the fall so we have apple butter all year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MryBthW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I look forward to making this several times each fall. I have followed the suggestions of others and halved the sugar and added in nutmeg. It is so flavorful and freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I make this every fall when the apples are best. My favorite is to mix Yellow Delicious and Macintosh. Also like to add a bit of nutmeg. It is so nice to take it out of the freezer and have delicious homemade taste. Thanks for sharing a favorite in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was my first time making apple butter. I think it turned out pretty good. Tastes great, so what more could you ask for! Thanks for sharing xoxoxoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Excellent. My first time to make apple butter - the only thing I'd ever done in jars before was pickles and so was a little nervous about my inexperience. Well, I winged it. . .didn't have 5 1/2 lbs of apples - more like 3 1/2 - 4 lbs so I cut down on sugar ( I used 2.5 cups with 4 lbs apples and about 2 cups with 3 1/2 lbs and it was just right to my taste buds), kept all the cinnamon, salt and cloves. Also, I weighed my apples AFTER I had peeled cored and chopped them up . . .not sure if I should have weighed them before? This was a tough question for me because my apples from my tree are pretty small. (3" daimeter on average) It was soooooo yummy that I've made it twice. As soon as my little apple tree spits out more apples I will be making it again!!! Highly recommend. Also, the first batch I let cook for about 20 hours - just got busy and couldn't get back to it but had read another reviewer that said the longer you cook it, the better it is. Also, I used 1/2 pint jars and made 7 with 4 lbs and then 5 with 3 1/2 lbs apples. Next time I will buy bigger jars because it is so good that it doesn't last long around my house. Friends and family love it too. Thanks for this wonderful recipe Terri! What a nice autumn treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I used 4 heaping teaspoons cinnamon, and a heaping teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Delicious! I used my Pampered Chef peeler, corer, slicer thing and you threw the apples in the crock, and then dumped the other ingredients on top. Mixed it around then cooked as directed. I threw it all in the food processor and pureed it after 12 hours on low. It set up perfectly and didn't need that hour of cook time with the lid off. Next time I will try to make it as directed bc it's a little too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My first experience with Apple butter & canning. I used Fuji apples, 2C white sugar and 1C brown- and could have done with a little less sweetness. I will try one cup of each next time, and there will be a next time because this recipe tastes great! My only problem with recipe--like many others--the time seems to be way off. I read others' reviews so I was expecting it, but after cooking with lid on for 12 hours, I cooked it w/o lid for another 5+ and it still seemed as though it needed more time. But I was impatient and wanted to can, so I am hoping for the best. Also...sauce was still very lumpy at about hour 15 so I put in blender and returned to crock for another couple hours before calling it done. And, finally, I got five full 8oz mason jars out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We needed to use up some apples and I was scrambling to find recipe was it. Lots of flavour. Takes a little time but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was amazing! I followed the recipe exactly as was given, and it was a huge hit! Took some of it home to family, and they all loved it!! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States