All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
this was a little sweet I cut sugar back 3c the next batch I think I will try 2c. other wise very good it depends on persons taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used fresh apples from my moms apple tree that were not quite ready so they were bitter. Came out perfect. I used a mix of white and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe. I cut the sugar down to 2 cups and found it to be plenty sweet. It's one of my favorite fall recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very easy to make and SO delicious. I was able to do the rest of my canning while this cooked in the crock pot, then canned it right before bed. I'll be using this recipe for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
According to my husband and kids this was our best batch of apple butter ever. We used Gala apples (this time of year in PA they are at the end of their picking season and very juicy and sweet). Filled the crockpot to the top and based on previous reviews cut the sugar. We added 1 cup sugar, 3 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves and salt and 2 tsp vanilla. Cooked in the crockpot for about 9 hours and then placed in blender to puree. (only pureed half the batch since I like mine with more texture). I did follow canning directions for placing them in jars (boiled jars & lids - waited for the "pop") but the apple butter is so good I don't think we will need to worry about a shelf life - it will go to fast! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe with Honeycrisp apples and 3 cups of sugar and it was almost right. A bit sweet for my taste but my husband loved it. Next time will either add a dash of apple cider vinegar or less sugar, we'll see. Could also stand to be run through a food mill to remove the pulp so that it's less of an applesauce. Otherwise a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This turned out great for me with no lumps and a perfect consistency. I made the recipe as directed (but halved it,) and took the advice of others and halved the sugar. However, by the time it was done I'm pretty sure I added proportionately the same amount of sugar as directed by the recipe. I did not find this too sweet. Thanks for the recipe! I shoud add that I used 3 Grannie Smith apples and 2 Golden Delicious which may account for the reason we did not find this too sweet (because the apples I used were on the tart side for the most part.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I've used this recipe for several yearsl So good and it freezes very well. Used a potato masher to make the mixture more smooth. Think I'll try the honey this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I went outside and picked 8 apples and made myself up some Apple Butter with this recipe. LOVED that it was done with a crock pot! I also just added 2 cups sugar but I did add about 1/4 cup brown sugar. It is DEELICIOUS! I did what someone else said, and used my hand held blender to chop up more but did leave with a few apple small chunks which I love on my toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I just made this yesterday for the first time. It was so easy. I made mine with a mix of Gala, Granny Smith and Jazz apples. After reading some reviews that recommended a mixI thought I'd give it a try. Well it was a good recommendation! I also added a little bit of allspice and vanilla. I did cut back on the sugar because there are diabetics in this home and really I'd rather taste the apples not the sugar. I made mine in a 3qt crock pot so I couldn't make the full batch but that was no problem. I used a half cup white sugar and half cup light brown sugar. I found that it was not necessary to use a food processor or blender. I just used a whisk when I stirred it and then for a few minutes at the end right before I jarred then. It was very smooth. I put them in a water bath for just about 15 mins. I will definitely be making apple butter again using the basics of this recipe. Would definitely recommend this for a beginner or a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 830) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States