All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great! Adjusted spices to my liking - left some peels in with apples - hint! Peel contains pectin which will thicken butter naturally - used stick blender after finished cooking - smooth as silk! Also sub some brown sugar fnstead of all white for richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I substituted Splenda and only used 2 1/2 cups instead of the white sugar. Turned out delicious. We have even used pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
OMG so yummy. It does take all day to make, but the results are so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Love this recipe. I put this in my slow-cooker overnight and awake to the most delicious fragrance imaginable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This will be a family favorite from now on. I'm making it again. The only change I made was the sugar content cut in half. I did that on the first time and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is awesome. Would decrease the sugar a little using the apples that I did, but otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I cut this recipe in half due to the amount of apples I had. I ignore the other reviewers saying this recipe was too sweet (as I have a sweet tooth) and I am sorry that I did. The recipe as written for me is way too sweet. Other than that the apple butter cooked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I was given a bushel of I think Ida Red apples from my inlaws. Wasnt sure what to do with all of them and then came upon this recipe. The first batch I made I decided to omit 1/2 the sugar and used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar also did not have cloves so used 1/4 tsp of all spice. Turned out great! dont think you need the 4 cups of suger unless you are using a sour apple. 2nd Batch My wife has adopted a paleo like diet (whole foods no refind sugar) so I wanted to make some for her to enjoy. Same spice mixture but insted of sugar I used 1 cup of Honey. Awsome I actually prefer the 2nd batch better. more apple flavor and we could all due with less sugar in our diets. still vary sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This turned out perfect. I cooked mine for a couple hours longer and still came out great. Next time I will use less sugar as it was just a little too sweet for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved making apple butter, thanks for recipe! I like to read the positive reviews and then adjust as you feel you would like. I used a combo of Granny Smith and Golden Delicious green apples, 1 cup of sugar, and added a dash or so of allspice. I did use a food processor to chop the apples small and then I tell you, one needs to cook this and cook it some more and don't give up! I wondered why it wasn't dark brown but it gets there. I liked it so much I then made a triple batch but this batch I didn't like the consistency so I put it in the blender in small batches and it looks buttery smooth and it's great. I'll probably make this every year now to share with friends and family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnkrodgers

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States