All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Sugar adjusted according to apples used and personal taste. Easy and cans well. Have family requesting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Wow! This was so incredibly easy to make and reminds me of the apple butter my grandma made when I was a kid. My family LOVES it. I filled the crock pot with a mixture of apples we had picked that ended up beat up or bruised. I followed others suggestions and cut back the sugar. I used 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown. It is fabulous and the house smells divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My kids and I made this to go with our lesson on Johnny Appleseed. This was very simple and came out great! We doubled the cinnamon, added allspice and nutmeg and reduced the white sugar to 1.5c and added 1c of brown sugar. Our crock pot would not hold all 5.5lbs of chopped apples, so we were only able to get about 2.5 pints apple butter after all was said and done. It did take about 16 hours for the total cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used 1c white sugar and 1c of brown with a little under 6lbs of apples. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Turned out unbelievably good - my 3 and 4y/o request it on toast, pancakes, ice cream, waffles, anything they can think of! This is my first and only apple butter recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Super yummy. I made this and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
This the the easiest most delicious apple butter I have ever made. I promise you will not be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
My apologies to people who get annoyed when someone rates a recipe they didn't follow exactly, but I think this recipe deserves 5 stars just for the sheer genius of employing the slow cooker - having spent many an afternoon babysitting a pot of apple butter to make sure it didn't burn or splatter my stovetop and kitchen counter, it was *so* nice to be able to load the apples into the slow cooker, set it on low or warm, check on it and stir it occasionally, and know I could leave it for a few hours on warm if I wasn't ready to can it yet. The slow cooker and my hand-crank apple peeler/corer/slicer gizmo have made it super-easy to turn my backyard apples into yummy apple butter. Here's what I did: peeled/cored/sliced enough apples to fill my cooker (probably about 5 lbs), added 2 c sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon, and set cooker on "warm" overnight. In the morning, checked on it, stirred it, turned heat up to "low", kept it simmering, tasted to see if it needed more sugar, turned it back to "warm" when I had to leave the house for a couple hours, came back, alternated heat settings between "warm" and "low" and stirred occasionally until it looked ready to puree with the immersion blender, then let it continue simmering with lid off, stirring occasionally, until it looked thick enough for canning. And by this time the apples have concentrated down enough that the splashes from the thick bubbling apple butter are contained within the walls of the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very sweet!! I like to make a recipe as written the first time and then I will change it to our tastes. Wonderful flavor, just too sweet, and needed way more time to break down the apples. I ended up putting it into our Magic Bullet to puree then put it back into the crock to thicken. Will definitely make this again though! Put it into the crock the night before and let it cook away while you sleep and even continue while you go to work. Longer does not hurt the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this last night and it was wonderful! We started with Golden Delicious apples from our neighbor's tree that were on the sweet side so I cut the sugar to 3 cups and I'm so glad I did... the entire amount of sugar would have been way too sweet. I also omitted the cloves as I didn't have any, but grated in maybe 1/2 tsp fresh nutmeg. I started with a full crockput and after 12 hours the mixture was reduced by about half and nice and dark and thick. Cooked for another hour with the lid off and ran my immersion blender through it. Made 8 half pint jars. I still have 4 bushels of apples left on my table so I will definitely be making more. It beats any apple butter I've ever bought in a store and aside from all the peeling and chopping, couldn't be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made just as it is. Tasted awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States