All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I can't really rate it yet because it's cooking and only has been for about 2 1/2 hours! -But I had to in order to post this review. I had to triple the recipe because I need about 15pints. I cut the amount of sugar in half because I used a mixture of Granny Smith, Gala, and Red Delicious, and the latter two are very sweet, and most reviewers said the given amount of sugar was way too much. I can always add it in the morning if necessary. I used allspice instead of cloves, bc that's what I had, and I'm cooking all 15lbs of it in an 8qt crockpot. I also added about 1/4 cup of apple cider to add a little more Apple flavor. I'm making this for the first time ever as Thanksgiving treats for my boyfriends family and I'm praying it all turns out okay!!! (I'm worried about not getting the right consistency, and it being too sweet) but I'm reading that I can continue to cook it down or transfer it to the stove to reduce it. I'm not sure how I could reduce the sweetness unless I got a ton of tart apples and cooked them down and added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe!!!!! I only used 1 cup of sugar and that was perfect. It was already on the sweet side. I did add that allspice like the other reviews said . I cooked it for 11 hours and I did not feel that taking the lid of the cooker for 1 hour was necessary. I did use 6 lbs of apples and only got 7 jars out of it. Had to make another batch. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Tastes good. Took the advice of others and cooked over 3 days, too time consuming will probably not make again. Yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I used honeycrisp apples and added virtually no sugar, maybe a 1/3c, but I did add a dash of allspice. My 13 y/o even approved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I used one cup of sugar instead of the four called for in the recipe and used Gala apples. Since I used three cups less of sugar, I ended up with five cups of apple butter at the end. I'm really glad that I only used one cup; reading the reviews made me suspect that four cups would be way too much, and one cup ended up being perfect. Adjust the sweetness to your tastes, but don't be surprised like I was when your yield decreases! I was so disappointed when I ended up with four 8-oz jars to can, and one partially full jar for the fridge. Still very yummy, but seemed like a sparse reward for so much time spent on the apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I followed this recipe to a "t", but the end result was 2x the desired sweetness. Not edible with this much sugar. What a waste of apples. Apples I used were Gala, Johnny, Honeycrisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
The recipe is definitely delicious but a few things I would say you need to do.cut the sugar in half I feel it's way to sweet.i had to water mine down some to take away some of the sweetness.i also cooked it all day about 16hrs.then put it in the refrigerator over night.then cooked it for 7hrs the next day with the lid off in medium and it's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I used 1 1/2 cups each of white and brown sugar, kept spices the same, and used 9-10lbs of apples. Cooked it the same way Canned in hot water bath-amazingly good. After it cooked 12 hrs, I pureed it and cooked uncovered for additional 4 hrs. Just finished my 4th batch(holidays coming)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Love this recipe. It taste so good. Just need to know if you can can and place on a shelf instead of in the freezer or refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This was the first time I ever made Applebutter I have an apple tree in my front yard so I went out picked a whole bunch of apples my whole house smelled like apple pie the whole day and the Applebutter itself turned out delicious it kind of taste a little bit like apple pie apple sauce I eat it on almost everything. I made enough to share with my family and they ate it up in the first day and now they can't wait until next time I can make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda May

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States