All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I cooked this longer than recipe called for, since it didn't seem thick enough. I cut it in half to try it out, which made two 8oz jars full. I like that it made the house smell good and that I knew all the ingredients added (as opposed to stuff in stores.) I am just not sure I'll go to the trouble since I can let the Amish folks do it and buy theirs near here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
All I can say is AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was my first attempt at making apple butter, or any kind of jam, jelly, etc. for that matter. It turned out fabulous! I halved the recipe and used Granny Smith apples that I diced into 1/4" cubes. Because I opted to use a tart apple, I did use the amount of sugar this recipe calls for. Actually, because of my amateur status, I thought it best to file the recipe exactly. I'm glad I did... It proved to be really yummy! I think next time I will try with Macintosh apples. Thanks for a great recipe and encouraging start to canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Had 6 apples, not sure what they weighed, but I halved the spices. Used about 1 1/2 cup sugar. As I tasted it warm from the slow cooker I thought it was too sweet, but cold from the fridge it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I've made this apple butter for the last 2 years in October. It is the best I've ever had!!... Of course I tweaked it a bit to my own taste...but it is a wonderful base recipe!! My tweaking was cooking it longer. The longer you cook it the more dark and rich it becomes. I can't imagine a "fall" without this apple butter! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
We have made this several times now and we always get compliments! The only reason it gets 4 stars is because we have modified the recipe to our tastes. We fill a 6 quart crock to the brim with sweet-tart apples (like honeycrisp) and double the cinnamon, but keep the sugar at four cups. We also cook on low about 12 or 13 hours, and don't worry about switching the temp. We purée with an immersion blender at the end. One time wetried cooking on high at the end but it ended up getting too dark and tasted a little burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Adjust sugar depending on the sweetness of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I can't really rate it yet because it's cooking and only has been for about 2 1/2 hours! -But I had to in order to post this review. I had to triple the recipe because I need about 15pints. I cut the amount of sugar in half because I used a mixture of Granny Smith, Gala, and Red Delicious, and the latter two are very sweet, and most reviewers said the given amount of sugar was way too much. I can always add it in the morning if necessary. I used allspice instead of cloves, bc that's what I had, and I'm cooking all 15lbs of it in an 8qt crockpot. I also added about 1/4 cup of apple cider to add a little more Apple flavor. I'm making this for the first time ever as Thanksgiving treats for my boyfriends family and I'm praying it all turns out okay!!! (I'm worried about not getting the right consistency, and it being too sweet) but I'm reading that I can continue to cook it down or transfer it to the stove to reduce it. I'm not sure how I could reduce the sweetness unless I got a ton of tart apples and cooked them down and added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe!!!!! I only used 1 cup of sugar and that was perfect. It was already on the sweet side. I did add that allspice like the other reviews said . I cooked it for 11 hours and I did not feel that taking the lid of the cooker for 1 hour was necessary. I did use 6 lbs of apples and only got 7 jars out of it. Had to make another batch. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Tastes good. Took the advice of others and cooked over 3 days, too time consuming will probably not make again. Yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States