All Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
A family hit! This was my first time making (and tasting) apple butter so I went in blindfolded on this one. I used Figi apples and followed the advice of some other reviews to pop the apples in the food processor to remove any lumps. Cook it until you think it's done...then cook it some more. As long as it's in low you can't burn it and it tastes divine. I spread it on some homemade banana bread and it was heaven :-d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
We loved our apple butter. I used pretty tart apples and the first time and it turned out great. I also did another batch later in the year when our apples were sweeter and the full amount of sugar which was also very good - I prefer the more tart apples or sweeter apples with a little less sugar, but I think it just depends on your personal taste. Firmer apples need to cook a bit longer it seems, but it also depends on how small you chop the apples. Very good simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Great! Adjusted spices to my liking - left some peels in with apples - hint! Peel contains pectin which will thicken butter naturally - used stick blender after finished cooking - smooth as silk! Also sub some brown sugar fnstead of all white for richer flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I substituted Splenda and only used 2 1/2 cups instead of the white sugar. Turned out delicious. We have even used pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
OMG so yummy. It does take all day to make, but the results are so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Love this recipe. I put this in my slow-cooker overnight and awake to the most delicious fragrance imaginable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This will be a family favorite from now on. I'm making it again. The only change I made was the sugar content cut in half. I did that on the first time and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is awesome. Would decrease the sugar a little using the apples that I did, but otherwise very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I cut this recipe in half due to the amount of apples I had. I ignore the other reviewers saying this recipe was too sweet (as I have a sweet tooth) and I am sorry that I did. The recipe as written for me is way too sweet. Other than that the apple butter cooked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I was given a bushel of I think Ida Red apples from my inlaws. Wasnt sure what to do with all of them and then came upon this recipe. The first batch I made I decided to omit 1/2 the sugar and used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar also did not have cloves so used 1/4 tsp of all spice. Turned out great! dont think you need the 4 cups of suger unless you are using a sour apple. 2nd Batch My wife has adopted a paleo like diet (whole foods no refind sugar) so I wanted to make some for her to enjoy. Same spice mixture but insted of sugar I used 1 cup of Honey. Awsome I actually prefer the 2nd batch better. more apple flavor and we could all due with less sugar in our diets. still vary sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States