All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
The only thing I changed was the cooking time. I wanted thicker butteer so I cooked about 2 hours cover off until I liked the plate test result. I did not use wisk just waited and used (boat motor) hand blender at end. Out of world reviews from all who received a jar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Very good - my kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen Lee
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This recipes was great-my entire family enjoyed it. I did minimize the sugar to 2 cups and it was plenty, and I also used a hand mixer to blend it and eliminate the chunks. The final product turned out great and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I cooked this longer than recipe called for, since it didn't seem thick enough. I cut it in half to try it out, which made two 8oz jars full. I like that it made the house smell good and that I knew all the ingredients added (as opposed to stuff in stores.) I am just not sure I'll go to the trouble since I can let the Amish folks do it and buy theirs near here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
All I can say is AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This was my first attempt at making apple butter, or any kind of jam, jelly, etc. for that matter. It turned out fabulous! I halved the recipe and used Granny Smith apples that I diced into 1/4" cubes. Because I opted to use a tart apple, I did use the amount of sugar this recipe calls for. Actually, because of my amateur status, I thought it best to file the recipe exactly. I'm glad I did... It proved to be really yummy! I think next time I will try with Macintosh apples. Thanks for a great recipe and encouraging start to canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Had 6 apples, not sure what they weighed, but I halved the spices. Used about 1 1/2 cup sugar. As I tasted it warm from the slow cooker I thought it was too sweet, but cold from the fridge it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I've made this apple butter for the last 2 years in October. It is the best I've ever had!!... Of course I tweaked it a bit to my own taste...but it is a wonderful base recipe!! My tweaking was cooking it longer. The longer you cook it the more dark and rich it becomes. I can't imagine a "fall" without this apple butter! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
We have made this several times now and we always get compliments! The only reason it gets 4 stars is because we have modified the recipe to our tastes. We fill a 6 quart crock to the brim with sweet-tart apples (like honeycrisp) and double the cinnamon, but keep the sugar at four cups. We also cook on low about 12 or 13 hours, and don't worry about switching the temp. We purée with an immersion blender at the end. One time wetried cooking on high at the end but it ended up getting too dark and tasted a little burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Adjust sugar depending on the sweetness of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States