All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Had 6 apples, not sure what they weighed, but I halved the spices. Used about 1 1/2 cup sugar. As I tasted it warm from the slow cooker I thought it was too sweet, but cold from the fridge it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I've made this apple butter for the last 2 years in October. It is the best I've ever had!!... Of course I tweaked it a bit to my own taste...but it is a wonderful base recipe!! My tweaking was cooking it longer. The longer you cook it the more dark and rich it becomes. I can't imagine a "fall" without this apple butter! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
We have made this several times now and we always get compliments! The only reason it gets 4 stars is because we have modified the recipe to our tastes. We fill a 6 quart crock to the brim with sweet-tart apples (like honeycrisp) and double the cinnamon, but keep the sugar at four cups. We also cook on low about 12 or 13 hours, and don't worry about switching the temp. We purée with an immersion blender at the end. One time wetried cooking on high at the end but it ended up getting too dark and tasted a little burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Adjust sugar depending on the sweetness of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I can't really rate it yet because it's cooking and only has been for about 2 1/2 hours! -But I had to in order to post this review. I had to triple the recipe because I need about 15pints. I cut the amount of sugar in half because I used a mixture of Granny Smith, Gala, and Red Delicious, and the latter two are very sweet, and most reviewers said the given amount of sugar was way too much. I can always add it in the morning if necessary. I used allspice instead of cloves, bc that's what I had, and I'm cooking all 15lbs of it in an 8qt crockpot. I also added about 1/4 cup of apple cider to add a little more Apple flavor. I'm making this for the first time ever as Thanksgiving treats for my boyfriends family and I'm praying it all turns out okay!!! (I'm worried about not getting the right consistency, and it being too sweet) but I'm reading that I can continue to cook it down or transfer it to the stove to reduce it. I'm not sure how I could reduce the sweetness unless I got a ton of tart apples and cooked them down and added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe!!!!! I only used 1 cup of sugar and that was perfect. It was already on the sweet side. I did add that allspice like the other reviews said . I cooked it for 11 hours and I did not feel that taking the lid of the cooker for 1 hour was necessary. I did use 6 lbs of apples and only got 7 jars out of it. Had to make another batch. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Tastes good. Took the advice of others and cooked over 3 days, too time consuming will probably not make again. Yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I used honeycrisp apples and added virtually no sugar, maybe a 1/3c, but I did add a dash of allspice. My 13 y/o even approved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I used one cup of sugar instead of the four called for in the recipe and used Gala apples. Since I used three cups less of sugar, I ended up with five cups of apple butter at the end. I'm really glad that I only used one cup; reading the reviews made me suspect that four cups would be way too much, and one cup ended up being perfect. Adjust the sweetness to your tastes, but don't be surprised like I was when your yield decreases! I was so disappointed when I ended up with four 8-oz jars to can, and one partially full jar for the fridge. Still very yummy, but seemed like a sparse reward for so much time spent on the apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 829) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States