All-Around Good Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This is a great basic recipe that is especially good for people who tend to skip breakfast. I'm not a morning person..and rarely eat breakfast. But I've been making these every morning. I pour them in a travel cup and drink them on my way to work. The very best thing about these smoothies is that they keep you very satisfied. After having one of these in the morning, I don't feel hungry for at least 4 hours! I usually substitute orange juice for the milk and then skip the honey..and they're still quite delicious! A few tips...you can use whatever type of fruit that you have and cut it up and put it in a freezer bag to save yourself a few minutes of prep time in the morning. also, if you find that you don't like the texture of the ground flax seed..you can just substitute 1 tablespoon of flaxseed oil (trust me, it won't make you fat..I've been having 1 Tbsp almost every morning, and I've lost 60 pounds!). These whip up perfectly in a Magic Bullet blender, plus the cups that come with it are easily transportable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
531 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
The first few times I made this smoothie, I wasn't crazy about it because the protein and flax mixed together was too much for me. Then, after seeing another user's review, I replaced the flaxseed with 1 tsp flaxseed oil. It was fabulous. I've been drinking one of these every day for about a month now and have lost about 7 or 8 pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nbean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montclair, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I buy fat free yogurt in the single serving containers, then freeze them. I make my smoothie in the blender using one of these, 1/2c or more frozen fruit, 1/2c or more skim milk, splash of vanilla, 1-2 packets Splenda, and a scoop of protein powder. It turns out extra thick because the fruit and yogurt are both frozen to start. I drink it on my 1 hour comute to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zanly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I HATE smoothies--but I loved this one! One thing to remember though-- freeze the banana after you peel it! I forgot the strawberries, and used blueberry yogurt instead of regular, both of which worked out fine for me. I also used the vanilla flavored protein powder, which gave the smootie a nice flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
The first time I made this, the only thing I changed was the use of flaxseed oil instead of actual flaxseed. Since then I have been adding 2 ice cubes, as someone else here had suggested, which helps to reduce the powder-like texture and taste from the protein supplement. This is a great smoothie considering it is hard to find something to mix protein and flaxseed with without having to force yourself to drink it each day. I also add a little bit of Fibersure to make up for the fiber lost by using flaxseed oil rather than the seeds themselves. It is a great way to up your fiber intake. Thanks for the great recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I left out the strawberries and the honey, but did add a 1/2 a teaspoon of sugar and about a 1/3 a cup of ice, and WOW it was delicious!!! The ice seemed to perfect the texture for me. I was looking for ways to add flax to our diet, and I'm glad I found this! In a tweaked version, I also added a tablespoon of wheat germ and 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. That also was very good! p.s. If your blender is like mine and doesn't grind the flax seeds up all the way, just grind them in a coffee grinder beforehand, for better health benefits and digestion. (Whole seeds don't digest.) I bought my Krups grinder for $16 at BBB (with 20% coupon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
This was a great smoothie - I dind't have the protein supplement but it was very good without it - just not as healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This smoothie seemed to have a lot of calories, but it is really a meal. I wasn't hungry for 3 1/2 - 4 hours later. So that makes it worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Great smoothie! I didn't have plain yogurt so i used light strawberry banana. Worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I keep ziplock bags in the freezer that contains 1 sliced banana and 8 chopped strawberries, 1 tablespoon of splenda and 2 ice cubes. All I have to add to the blender in the morning is 1/3 cup milk and 1 container of (vanilla) yogurt. I buy my strawberries on sale and make up bags to use for weeks in advance. Experiment!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States