All-Around Good Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Great smoothie recipe! I omitted the honey (I found it sweet enough) and used ff vanilla soy milk. I think this will be my new morning meal before I hit the gym!! Oh, don't forget to either grind your flax seed (your body does not digest whole flax), buy it already ground or just use the oil. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Wow. This tastes fantastic! I had been making smoothies on the fly with a variety of fruits, milk, and yogurt, but wanted something a bit more filling and healthy - which is where the ground flaxseed comes in. I had never really thought of using flaxseed until this recipe, and special ordered some ground golden flaxseed specifically to try this out. Boy, was that a good move. :D Some say the flaxseed has a nutty flavor, but when I opened the package it really smelled more like a mild mango than anything else - perfect for adding to a smoothie! I did add more milk than the recipe called for because the consistency was a bit thick - it came out so good, and I will definitely be making this again. I tried it w/frozen banana and peach slices, and am totally look forward to using other fruit as well. I like the texture of the smoothie because it feels substantial. Thumbs way up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I have made this smoothie a few times now. As a new vegetarian, I was noticing that I was bruising very easily which can be a sign of lack of vitamin C and also protein/iron. I wanted something in the morning with a little bit of kick and more nutrients in it than the honeynut cheerios I had been eating. This is just what I was looking for! The protein powder (Trader Joes has a great, inexpensive soy one) and flax seed have really made me feel good in the morning. Plus the smoothie really fills you up too. Some small changes I made were to use low-fat vanilla soy milk instead of regular non-fat and vanilla yogurt instead of plain and it was amazing this morning! This recipe is fantastic! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
WHOLE FLAXSEED DOES NOT DIGEST!!! MAKE SURE YOUR BLENDER IS GRINDING IT UP. IF NOT, GRIND THEM IN COFFEE GRINDER. SOME PEOPLE HAVE BEEN EATING WHOLE FLAXSEEDS FOR A LONG TIME, ONLY TO FIND IT WAS A COMPLETE WASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Definitely not my favortie smothie. I used agave instead of honey and left out the protien powder. I think it needs more banana and less milk. Nutrionally speaking, this is a very balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
It was a great breakfast; I couldn't believe it was really that filling. Substituted whey powder for protein supplement and raspberries for strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was fantastic! I've made smoothies before, but this one tasted better than any I've tried, probably b/c of using yogurt. I used what I had onhand - a lemon flavored Weight Watchers yogurt, some mixed fruit I had already diced up and frozen before it would go bad(strawb, kiwi, peaches)used a tsp of flaxseed oil, scoop of protein powder and no honey (the flavored yogurt made it sweet enough.)Never thought I'd actually CRAVE something healthy as I do with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I used Weight Watcher's white chocolate cheesecake flavored yogurt and it was delicious. I considered adding a little Splenda, but decided not to since it was already a light refreshing taste. I left out the flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious! I love the consistency. I don't have flaxseed and have no idea what it's for, so I didn't use it. I used pineapple juice instead of milk, used a whole serving 3/4 cup of frozen yogurt, with a handful of mixed frozen raspberries and blackberries, and another handful of mixed frozen strawberries and bananas. I also used the 2 tbs protein powder and 6 ice cubes. It was delicious! Yogurt is good for digestion, so is fiber from all the fruit, not to mention Vitamin C for immune system. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I pretty much used this as a base and made a few substitutions. I doubled the batch and used the flax seed as directed, 1 cup 1% milk, 1 cup fat free vanilla yogart, 2 small bananas (and they were SMALL!) and 3 sliced nectarines. I froze the fruit the night before so it would be extra frothy. They were great and very filling! My husband didn't think he would like it, but he did! Next time I think I'll use a berry blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States