All-Around Good Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
WHOLE FLAXSEED DOES NOT DIGEST!!! MAKE SURE YOUR BLENDER IS GRINDING IT UP. IF NOT, GRIND THEM IN COFFEE GRINDER. SOME PEOPLE HAVE BEEN EATING WHOLE FLAXSEEDS FOR A LONG TIME, ONLY TO FIND IT WAS A COMPLETE WASTE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Definitely not my favortie smothie. I used agave instead of honey and left out the protien powder. I think it needs more banana and less milk. Nutrionally speaking, this is a very balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
It was a great breakfast; I couldn't believe it was really that filling. Substituted whey powder for protein supplement and raspberries for strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This was fantastic! I've made smoothies before, but this one tasted better than any I've tried, probably b/c of using yogurt. I used what I had onhand - a lemon flavored Weight Watchers yogurt, some mixed fruit I had already diced up and frozen before it would go bad(strawb, kiwi, peaches)used a tsp of flaxseed oil, scoop of protein powder and no honey (the flavored yogurt made it sweet enough.)Never thought I'd actually CRAVE something healthy as I do with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I used Weight Watcher's white chocolate cheesecake flavored yogurt and it was delicious. I considered adding a little Splenda, but decided not to since it was already a light refreshing taste. I left out the flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Delicious! I love the consistency. I don't have flaxseed and have no idea what it's for, so I didn't use it. I used pineapple juice instead of milk, used a whole serving 3/4 cup of frozen yogurt, with a handful of mixed frozen raspberries and blackberries, and another handful of mixed frozen strawberries and bananas. I also used the 2 tbs protein powder and 6 ice cubes. It was delicious! Yogurt is good for digestion, so is fiber from all the fruit, not to mention Vitamin C for immune system. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I pretty much used this as a base and made a few substitutions. I doubled the batch and used the flax seed as directed, 1 cup 1% milk, 1 cup fat free vanilla yogart, 2 small bananas (and they were SMALL!) and 3 sliced nectarines. I froze the fruit the night before so it would be extra frothy. They were great and very filling! My husband didn't think he would like it, but he did! Next time I think I'll use a berry blend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I am pregnant and this is a good way to get in lots of vitamins and fruit together in the mornings. I use fresh fruit (berries or peaches and half a banana) and I just use my immersion blender to quickly whip this up with minimal cleanup. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I've been making this same smoothie recipe for years, and switching up the fruit as per whatever my mood is. The only thing I keep consistent is the frozen chunk of banana that I throw in. It really makes the smoothie thick. Try adding half a ripe pear, a teaspoonful of cocoa powder and a pinch of instant coffee. Mmmmm, mocha!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
A great recipe. I used soy milk in place of nonfat milk. Our peach tree was loaded this year, so I used peaches instead of the strawberries. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States