All-Around Good Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
UPDATED: Being inspired by this recipe I did some experimenting and made my own recipe, and am waiting for it to be published. This is a great starter recipe, thank you! ORIGINAL:I loved this! I will be making this every morning. My 7 year old son loved it too. I normally like to do the recipe exactly as it is written the first time around, but could not with this recipe. I substituted plain rice milk for the milk. I used raw honey instead of regular honey. I used 1/4 cup of yogurt as we limit our dairy intake. For protein powder, I used unflavored whey protein isolate I had on hand from baking homemade bread. I also added a small hand full of ice cubes. This was awesome! Tastes just like the $5 smoothies I get at the smoothie place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmmmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
If I could, I would make this everyday for breakfast soooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I use a tsp. of flax seed oil instead of flax seed. I couldn't handle the gritty taste. I lose the fiber benefit but keep the rest of the nutrition. Great healthy smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Good basic smoothie recipe. I've been a vegetarian for four years and I'm always looking for a way to sneak protein into my diet with out that not-so-delish "protein powder" taste. I used vanilla soy milk and a low-fat vanilla yogurt, a single splenda instead of honey, and two ice cubes since someone forgot to pop a banana in the freezer :). It's filling and made a little more than I expected. Not to worry, popping the extra into the ice cube tray produced some rather tasty "popsicles" for my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superkarynfragilistic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Yummo!! I bumped it up to 4 servings, for the whole family. My bananas weren't frozen but worked fine. I had the smoothie pack from Costco with frozen yogurt and berries and used 2 of those, used the liquid flax seed and just for the heck of it, threw in an apple, as well as the other items in the recipe. Everyone seemed to love it and there was none left (very unusual)! I'll definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I had been looking for a good base recipe for smoothies. I change the fruits with whatever I have on hand but it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Wonderful recipe, thank you. I have made it several times using different fruits and then I freeze them in pops for the kids. They LOVE them! (So do the adults!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Cummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I make this all the time, and pretty much any frozen berry goes great with this. I always add a handful of bagged spinach, and you can't even taste it! I make this for my kids with the spinach too (leaving out the soy powder) and they still to this day have no idea that they're drinking something with spinach in it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
My protien powder was chocolate soy flavor so I wias a little worried. This recipe turned out fabulous. All I tasted was strawberry banana flavor. PERFECT and healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States