All-Around Good Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Great recipe. It probably would have been better had I just used one banana, but since I didn't have any yogurt, that seemed to work. If you really like bananas, then this would probably be better, but I'm not a big fan of them. I also added a splash of orange juice and substituted the flax seed for flax seed oil. Overall, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is the same recipe I have used for awhile. My only suggestions..For Liquid I use Fusion Strawberry/Banana Juice from V8. and a little OJ. I use Frozen Strawberries and Frozen Blueberries. I also use Strawberry Creme Muscle Milk Protein powder.. 1 Scoop is all it takes. Non fat yogurt and Whole Flaxseed. I think it works out to about 500 calories.. not bad for a breakfast replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Pimlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I didn't change much from the recipe except used the flaxseed oil instead of powder and used 1 tablespoon on honey. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
added blueberries, raspberries and strawberries, whatever fruit i want, and no protein mix (since i didnt have any)Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I thought this was good, but i thought the protein powder was a little overpowering, so i might add more fruit or cut down on it a little next time. Thanks for a great recipe to mess around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Delicious- my two year old loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Excellent-no matter how you tweak it. Very filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a great smoothie recipe! My only substitutions are that I use vanilla flavored ingredients: vanilla almond milk, low fat vanilla yogurt, and also vanilla protein powder (hmm, do you think I like vanilla?!). I feel that this makes the smoothie taste more like a milkshake (only a whole lot healthier!). As other reviewers noted, I use the flaxseed oil instead of the ground seeds. I love that you can keep changing the fruit combo! I cut up all my fruit and measure to store in individual freezer bags to make it easier in the morning. I think my favorite combo so far was a strawberry/white peach with fruit I bought from the farmers market. Sooo good for breakfast, thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
It's amazingly delish! and easy the only thing i suggest is to freeze the banana AFTER you peel it(i learned by accident). Im going to start freezing my banana's that start to go bad into ice cube trays so i can just throw them in the blender. i also buy singe 4 oz servings of vanilla yogurt, just peel and drop in the blender and being a single person i dont let a 5lb of yogurt go bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
UPDATED: Being inspired by this recipe I did some experimenting and made my own recipe, and am waiting for it to be published. This is a great starter recipe, thank you! ORIGINAL:I loved this! I will be making this every morning. My 7 year old son loved it too. I normally like to do the recipe exactly as it is written the first time around, but could not with this recipe. I substituted plain rice milk for the milk. I used raw honey instead of regular honey. I used 1/4 cup of yogurt as we limit our dairy intake. For protein powder, I used unflavored whey protein isolate I had on hand from baking homemade bread. I also added a small hand full of ice cubes. This was awesome! Tastes just like the $5 smoothies I get at the smoothie place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmmmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States