All-Around Good Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Great basic recipe. I used cashew milk this morning & goat milk yogurt. (I make my own milk out of raw nuts because it's so good for you. No cholesterol, full of protein & easy to digest because the enzymes are still in tact.) Skipped the honey because the fruit made it sweet enough. One T of flax seed, one T of flax oil, & 1 T of whole grain oatmeal. Yummy!!! (If you get the dark colored flax seed, it tastes fishy. The light colored flax has a nutty taste. If you grind it up before you add it to the smoothie, it tastes better & is easier to digest.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Yummy even though I forgot to add the honey and I skipped out on the protien supplement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenmomof2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Yummy! Great recipe to personalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Use MILLED flax seed or flax seed oil, your body can't process regular seeds all the way so you won't get all the nutrients that flax provides. Be sure to read the ingredients on the back of your protein powder. Some brands contain neurotoxins such as MSG and artificial sweeteners, and artery clogging hydrogenated oils... you can also use silken tofu in place, lower in calories and high in protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Excellent. I was looking for a quick simple solution for breakfast or a nutritious evening snack and this was IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a good starting point for smoothie novices. I've discovered that I LOVE this variation: nix the protein powder, add a splash of vanilla extract, 1/2 cup of blueberries (frozen berries work great!), and a packet of plain instant oatmeal instead of the flax. Delicious, filling and really packs in my much-needed fruit servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NommyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I've made this every single day this week. I've made it part of my daily breakfast routine. It's great for those who don't have time to eat breakfast in the morning. Very healthy too. Slice the bananas, then freeze them. Frozen bananas last for a long time. Get ground flax seed in the pharmacy section of the grocery store. The frozen fruit makes it cold enough to not need any ice. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sausage King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious smoothie. I substituted agave syrup for the honey and only used a tablespoon of flax meal and protein powder, and sprinkled in about a teaspoon of Benefiber. Since fresh fruit is hard to come by here in February, I used canned peaches and apricots, packed in fruit juice. I cut up all the fruits, put a cup into 4 or 5 sandwich bags, and tossed the bags in the freezer overnight...the smoothie was the consistency of soft-serve ice cream, and really filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Yes, it is all around a good smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherry Blossom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I just made this for my daughter. She needs to eat way more protein so I thought I would give this a try. I used mangos and blueberries. Thought about using oj instead of the milk, but I think the milk might have more protein. It is tasty and sweet and I HOPE she likes it. I do:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-Around Good Smoothie

See how to make a super-healthy fruit smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States