All American Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHELKINS
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was easy to make and looks beautiful. I didn't use the rum because I made it for children and adults. If I made it for just adults, I would add the rum...yum! I did have lots of left over pound cake and some strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENROBBINS
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have not sat down to take a bite but I have tasted all the components to this recipe. And all components are fantastic. I will say, I have a trifle bowl that has a stand on the bottom (I hope that makes sense). Therefore, it is not one big glass bowl. Because of this, I do not think you will need 3 lbs of strawberries. 2lbs in my case would have been plenty. Same with the pound cake. One would have been enough (I made my own so I knew I would have leftovers). Also, I did not use the rum. I think it would have added a really nice touch but I didn't have any and I am serving this to kids as well. Overall, really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENROBBINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I made this for 4th of July, and it was a HUGE hit! It was easy, served a large crowd, and had people begging for seconds! Looks like something you spent a lot of time and effort on, but was really quick, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
this was a HIT at my fourth of July bash! EVERYONE loved it! I added a bit more coconut rum than what was called for, but this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This is delicious, and a beautiful dessert for a friend who just became a US citizen! My trifle bowl must be a lot smaller than the one in the picture, because I filled it up and had enough fruit, cake and cream to make another smaller trifle. The next time I will buy a little less fruit and maybe just 1 pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Use greek yogurt that is thicker and then just a light cream or even try 2% milk next time. Use angel food cake and you've got yourself a low cal dessert! (and use honey to sweeten the strawberries instead.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
An absolute favorite at cookouts....plus the homemade whipped cream recipe can be used for other recipes (I added a dollop to my cup of coffee...yum!). This is definitely a recipe I will make again and again in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Benak
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
i made this recipe for a housewarming party and it was a HUGE hit! i was told that i am mandated to bring this with me evrywhere i go from here on out. i made my ownp ound cake using granmother's pound cake II from this site, and it was perfect. the only change i made was i used french vanilla pudding mix, as i could not find white chocolate. i also added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Benak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is so delicious! Everyone who tried it loved it, and it was so pretty and easy. I didn't use the coconut flavored rum, because my family and I don't use alcohol, but I am thinking of trying plain coconut flavoring next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl4Christ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Just made this for work potluck! It received rave reviews! I substituted cookies n cream instant pudding for the white chocolate pudding. Delicious! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

English Trifle

This elegant dessert features layers of cake, vanilla pudding, and fresh fruit.

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

American Flag Cake

Each slice of cake is decorated with an American flag. See the simple trick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States