All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
The roast tasted really good, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. However, because the roast is not cooking in any liquid, it was a little tough (though it wasn't too bad). I would recommend adding some water to the bottom of the pan while it is in the oven to make it a little more tender. This roast, however, will not produce any gravy. Also, I would suggest adding some onion to the top while it cooks for a little flavoring. This is a great recipe for anyone who wants a simple pot roast that isn't too much work and doesn't have to cook too long, but if you are wanting a more tender and more flavorful one, i suggest trying a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
601 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is an awful way to cook a roast. The seasonings are fine, but this rapid cooking without any liquid produces a tough, dry result. Liquid and slower cooking are essential if people are actually going to enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
my family loved this recipe... even my mother in law and you all know how they can be. It was easy to make, and very flavorful. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Simon Widmayer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This was extremely simple and outstanding served with string beans, mashed potatoes and dinner rolls. A wonderful Sunday evening dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I made the All American Roast Beef tonight and thought it gave a fabulous flavor. I used table salt because I didn't have Kosher salt. It was moist and cooked great at 375. Definitely I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
My husband thought the flavoring was good but it was a little tougher than my usual roasts in the crockpot. Probably wouldn't make again unless I was pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Murtaugh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Excellent--the recipe was easy to follow and my family enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This receipe was very quick to prepare and very tasty. Family loved it. I will be adding it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
A permanent entry in my recipe box, this roast cooks up perfectly every time I make it. Nice and perfectly rare. I even add extra pepper to the outside and then slice the leftovers for tasty sandwiches later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Excellent recipie if you have a good cut of beef and are looking for something simple to enhance the flavor of an already good piece of meat. The combo of spices don't overpower the meat, but season it just right. An added tip - if you have the time season meat and let it marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENA75

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States