All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Always just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegrizzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Excellent results. I have seared my roast 1st and also just put it in the hot oven. Either way it works very well. I mix the salt, pepper and garlic powder and then rub the roast. I have also crushed a clove of garlic and rubbed the roast b4 adding the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
It came out great. I rubbed the roast with salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary and a little cayenne pepper. About 30 minutes before it was done I added thick sliced red potatoes tossed with olive oil, garlic powder, black pepper, salt and rosemary and put them around the roast. While the roast was resting the potatoes finished cooking. I'll definitely be making it this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very pleased with my results! Purchases 5lb,tied eye of round beef roast. After reading many reviews, I coated the entire roast with a seasoned rub -purchased at local grocery. I let the roast sit with rub on for 20 minutes then placed it on a rack (in roaster) in a pre-heated 375 degree oven. Cooked it to 120 degrees international temp and let it sit to rest after roasting. It was PERFECT! Beautiful pink center with more doneness to edges. I would go a little less on the rub Next time. Very, very good! Not dry. Not tough as other comments suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So quick and effortless. Great flavour.thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The cooking process was spot on! I had a 3 pound bottom round roast that I took out of the fridge several hours before I was ready to cook. It is important to let your roast get to room temp before cooking to ensure even cooking throughout. I cooked for 20/mins per pound at 375 degrees and it was a perfect 120 degrees when I took it out of the oven. I wrapped in foil and let sit for about 20-30 mins until I was ready to serve it. I gave this 4 stars because of not enough seasoning. I doubled the seasoning and it still wasn't enough. Next time I will use more salt and pepper, fresh garlic, and thyme and make a paste to rub all over the roast. I will wrap it in foil and refrigerate overnight to get more flavor into this roast. This is a tough cut of meat, so be sure you have a very sharp knife or an electric one to slice very thin. It is wonderful! Thanks for the great cooking technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This roast was delicious! Followed the directions exactly and was rewarded with a beautiful, medium-rare (more on the rarer side), flavorful and tender roast. You definitely need to cook this roast on a rack, so the heat can circulate freely around the roast & don't skimp on the resting time! It was a big hit with my family and tonight we will use the leftovers for French dips. Thank you for a fantastic & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karma W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this last night for dinner and it was awesome. I've never been too successful cooking a roast beef for slicing until this recipe. Please use a meat therm instead of the standard 20 min/lb - my roast cooked much quicker. I pulled it out at 120 and I let it sit about 30 min before slicing. Perfectly pink throughout. No red. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I'm a vegetarian and I made this for my wife. She said it was absolutely delicious! And it was incredibly simple :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was perfect! I was leery of cooking without water, but it turned out absolutely tender and delicious. TRACYCOOK's suggestions worked great. Definitely use a meat thermometer and not rely on the time given, take it out of the oven at 120, let it sit to remain cooking while you prep the rest of the meal. I will be making this often. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States