All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My daughter and I made this for Sunday dinner-my first attempt and hers and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Whether you have a gas or electric oven . . . makes all the difference. Whatever a recipe temperature says, if you're using a gas oven, lower 15 degrees . . . for everything. Make sure the roast has been in the rack with aluminum foil underneath that has been coated with Crisco at room temp. for at least an hour. Using my gas oven, I prefer to preheat to 535 degrees and turn immediately to 350 degrees when putting the roast in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe saved my day! I promised a focus group that I would feed them a real meal in exchange for their time, but to my horror the recipe that I was using would have taken five hours, and I only had two. My only addition was basting lightly with a little sour cream and garlic, and it was the most beautiful beef I've ever made. Red in the center, brown crusty outside, garnered awe and wonder when I took the tinfoil off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Always just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegrizzo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Excellent results. I have seared my roast 1st and also just put it in the hot oven. Either way it works very well. I mix the salt, pepper and garlic powder and then rub the roast. I have also crushed a clove of garlic and rubbed the roast b4 adding the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
It came out great. I rubbed the roast with salt, pepper, garlic, rosemary and a little cayenne pepper. About 30 minutes before it was done I added thick sliced red potatoes tossed with olive oil, garlic powder, black pepper, salt and rosemary and put them around the roast. While the roast was resting the potatoes finished cooking. I'll definitely be making it this way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very pleased with my results! Purchases 5lb,tied eye of round beef roast. After reading many reviews, I coated the entire roast with a seasoned rub -purchased at local grocery. I let the roast sit with rub on for 20 minutes then placed it on a rack (in roaster) in a pre-heated 375 degree oven. Cooked it to 120 degrees international temp and let it sit to rest after roasting. It was PERFECT! Beautiful pink center with more doneness to edges. I would go a little less on the rub Next time. Very, very good! Not dry. Not tough as other comments suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
So quick and effortless. Great flavour.thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
The cooking process was spot on! I had a 3 pound bottom round roast that I took out of the fridge several hours before I was ready to cook. It is important to let your roast get to room temp before cooking to ensure even cooking throughout. I cooked for 20/mins per pound at 375 degrees and it was a perfect 120 degrees when I took it out of the oven. I wrapped in foil and let sit for about 20-30 mins until I was ready to serve it. I gave this 4 stars because of not enough seasoning. I doubled the seasoning and it still wasn't enough. Next time I will use more salt and pepper, fresh garlic, and thyme and make a paste to rub all over the roast. I will wrap it in foil and refrigerate overnight to get more flavor into this roast. This is a tough cut of meat, so be sure you have a very sharp knife or an electric one to slice very thin. It is wonderful! Thanks for the great cooking technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This roast was delicious! Followed the directions exactly and was rewarded with a beautiful, medium-rare (more on the rarer side), flavorful and tender roast. You definitely need to cook this roast on a rack, so the heat can circulate freely around the roast & don't skimp on the resting time! It was a big hit with my family and tonight we will use the leftovers for French dips. Thank you for a fantastic & easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karma W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States