All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by RevConrad
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Enjoyed it had made it for our 4tth of july barbecue. I didn't tie it because i didn't have the string. I added some water for moister. The family absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RevConrad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
oooooo emmmmm geeeeeee in the words of my kids while they were eating this...lol....this was so delicious I will def always cook my pot roast like this...i also took advice from previous reviews and added beef broth to the bottom of pan while cooking...i also added a bit more spices to it like adobo seasoned salt and paprika .....the aroma in the house was amazing and the juice from the roast on top of meat was sooo good....thank you so much for recipe!!!! I love this website!!!!I made with mashed potatoes and asparagus....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AquaLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was very yummy...My kids and granddaughter loved it .Its a keeper and I used Ds skillet gravy from this website on my roast and potatoes and my family loved it..My daughter doesnt care for roasts but she had seconds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is a great basic/classic recipe. I have always been a bit afraid to try a roast again. It always seems like they turn out overdone and tough. I followed this recipe to a "T" and it turned out quite nice. It was just a touch tougher than I was hoping, but still an awesome recipe that I will certainly keep. I will try letting it stand for a while before cooking the next time I make it. Perhaps, that will aid in making it more tender. As a side note...I highly recommend purchasing a meat thermometer that is ment to bake with the roast. I read in a review of this recipe to do so. It made a big diference for me. I felt confident that the meat was at the preferred level of doneness...it was just that...perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I guess I was always under-seasoning my roasts because after trying this recipe my family raved about the flavor! Really tasty, tender and yummy! I have also used this on a pork roast with equally delicious results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This really had a nice taste to it. I thought for sure it would be dry, but to my surprise it was perfect. Next time I am going to use an eye round. I used a top round and it was a little tuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I made this recipe tonight. Even my 9 year old who isn't a meat lover, enjoyed the roast beef. I thought it was very easy to make, and came out delicious, tender and juicy. I hand rubbed the seasoning onto the meat as well as roasted the meat on top of sliced onion. I will certainly make this again. I was thrilled, as I'm not the best cook and have tried roasts before to little success. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
roast was delish with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Vezina Hamlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a very simple and good recipe. GRRRR. For those who say you must cook moist, or that this is dry, then I feel sorry that you have never experienced real roast beef. Ladies and gentlemen, there are (at a minimum) two distinctly different ways of cooking a beef roast and (surprise!) they come out differently and are used for different purposes. First, "Roast Beef" (this recipe) and second "Pot Roast." If your mother did not make the distinction clear, or did not know herself, I will clarify. --------- Roast beef is cooked dry. This is what you are served at the buffet where the chef cuts thin slices for you, plates, and ladles on some juice. This is what you need to make Roast Beef Manhattan. This is what you need for a French Dip. This, (with more seasonings and a few post-roasting steps) is the start of "Italian Beef 'sangwich'." ---------- OTOH, Pot roast is cooked moist, in a pot. The pot may be in the oven, on the stove, or a slow cooker. Vegetables, typically carrots and potatoes, frequently some onion, are cooked in water, broth, or tomato sauce. This produces a "one pot meal" and is often passed on a platter. Each diner takes vegetables and a chunk of coarsely cut meat. The moist heat causes the meat to be very tender (yet because of large cut may be fibrous), pieces may be pulled off with the fork and a knife is often not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Delicious! It was my first attempt at making roast beef at home. This came out as a perfect medium rare roast with the most delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States