All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Worked great. The temperature was ideal, I did cook it longer, I like it medium well. Nice start to have a tender roast, not burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I really wanted to give this at least four stars, but the flavor was not there. Even my 9 year old said "it's bland". The cooking directions are dead on, the roast was moist and medium rare. Nice and tender, but BLAND.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I had two 2.35 lb. roasts, which I tied, brushed with browning sauce and seasoned with the salt, pepper and garlic powder. I roasted them both on the same rack on a rimmed baking pan. They took approx. 70 minutes to roast in the 375 oven (I took them out to rest when my meat thermometer read 130), reaching a perfect medium-rare temperature. Totally juicy,tender, and flavorful, I wouldn't have believed a cheap cut of meat like this could produce such great results. I will roast my eye of the round roasts using this method from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I followed the directions almost exactly. The only changes I made were not to tie it, and also to cut 3 long slits across the top of the roast and stuff these with sliced garlic cloves (3 large cloves). I thought that the cooking directions were spot on, the roast turned out perfectly and was delicious! The spices were just right. My hubby loved it too. I don't think we will be making a roast any other way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is EXACTLY what I came to allrecipes looking for. I'm not cooking roast beef often and forget the basic temp/timing info. Note to self: Take the roast out of fridge to come to room temp before putting in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is the best ROAST BEEF you will ever eat, if you want POT ROAST make a POT ROAST, but please don't rate this fine recipe poorly because it isn't a recipe for something other than ROAST BEEF. That said, I bought a slightly larger than 3 pound roast, seasoned it and cooked it according to directions, yes this does make a rare roast beef, if that isn't your thing add 5 minutes per pound to the timing. I did add thinly sliced onions to the pan and on top of the roast prior to putting it in the oven just as a personal preference. Be sure to slice as thin as possible and serve with a light gravy, mashed potatoes and a vegetable of your choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is it. Your basic, simple, fool-proof Sunday roast. I think the bad reviews are from people who were expecting POT roast instead of a rosy, thinly-sliced, roast beef. Although the directions are simplistic, they are important. The cut matters, the time matters, the temp matters, the resting matters. Too much beef for you? No problem because it's excellent the day after for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My first time cooking a Roast beef and my hubby and me loved it. I just followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My roast was 2 1/2 lbs so I wasn't sure if this would turn out but I followed the directions exactly and got a perfectly cooked medium rare roast after cooking for 50 minutes. And the gravy I was able to make from the wonderful meat juices was so very good, I didn't want to stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States