All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday and it came out perfect. I used a top round - what I had on hand. This is the classic "Beef on Weck" beef recipe. We couldn't stop eating it (with a little horseradish of course) Best fast beef roast recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this as directed with a six pound eye round. Cooked at 375 F as directed until internal temperature reached 125 F, about 1 hour, 50 minutes. Removed and covered loosely with aluminum foil while I baked the bread for 25 minutes. Internal temperature reached 145 F. by the time I carved it, about 35 minutes after removing from the oven. It was tender, juicy, and flavorful. I was skeptical about using eye round because I have found it to be rather tough. This was better than expected and my dinner guests and I loved it. Served with mashed potatoes and green bean casserole, homemade baguettes and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
The only thing I changed was I oiled with canola oil after i tied it up and cooked fat side up. 60 min perfect roast and i used D's Skillet Gravy. What a hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicki8692
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Very easy recipe. I did not tie roast and it came out fine. I did sear the exterior first and then cooked at 325. Meat was very juicy. Key to be generous with seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This recipe is great for this size eye round. Comes out rare in the middle with a 1 inch band of done on the outside. Delicious cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBINBRADY
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I used a probe meat thermometer with an alarm and set it for 145 degrees. Next time I will set it for 130 degrees because the meat went from medium rare to medium while resting. I added dried thyme to the rub and it was very tasty. I added water to the pan drippings and poured them into the remaining sliced beef. I think I'll make beef pot pies with the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this yesterday and it came out fantastic. However, the 20 min/LB @375 was incorrect for me and would have probably been terrible. I had an 8 Lb eye roast and it was well done at 2 hours when I checked it. I probably could have pulled it out at an hour and 40 minutes or so. So like the others say, use a meat thermometer and don't go with the time alotted. Great Roast though and I will make it many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is fantastic. I have never cooked a jucier roast. Despite some reviews I had read, I followed the directions exactly. Ending with a 15 minute tent is what is key. So very lovely. Glad I know how to cook a roast properly now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzphit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this last night with great success. I read a review mentioning adding water to the bottom of the roasting pan, which I did, but I think that was unnecessary. The roast was plenty juicy on its own. I may add a bit more garlic powder next time just because I loved the garlic flavoring. I can't wait to make a sandwich with the leftovers! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryef27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States