All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this last night with great success. I read a review mentioning adding water to the bottom of the roasting pan, which I did, but I think that was unnecessary. The roast was plenty juicy on its own. I may add a bit more garlic powder next time just because I loved the garlic flavoring. I can't wait to make a sandwich with the leftovers! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryef27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great recipe! So easy! Just make sure to read other reviews here and use a meat thermometer! Do not rely on timing, particularly if you want a medium-rare roast! I have made this twice now, and I find that for medium-rare I need to take the roast out when the centermost part of the roast reaches 120. Make sure you really are measuring at dead center where it is the coolest. You may need to try in several locations in the roast. I check the temperature every 10 minutes after I reached the halfway point. Then I let it sit for 15 minutes before slicing. Slicing very thin is key - particularly if you use a cheap cut of meat. Tastes great with a prepared package of Knorr brown gravy if you are looking for a shortcut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
If I could I'd give this a few more stars I would!! This is REALLY good. We all loved it especially my husband he raved about it. I think this is the best roast I have ever cooked and I am 54 yrs old. I used a bottom of the round because that's what I had in the freezer. I did follow the recipe to a tee. It was wonderful. I will be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed someone's advice-took out meat when internal temp 120F, then covered with aluminum foile. sliced thin with slicing machine when cooled. perfectly cooked, just as we like, pink and rare inside!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kunimi Togashi Ehresmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Good basic solid recipe. I did have to substitute a sirloin tip roast as my butcher did not have any eye of round left. I also had to tinker with the cooking time but did use a meat thermometer and Tracycook's review was helpful. I like my meat medium rare and took my roast out of the oven when it hit 125 on the meat thermometer and let it sit for 15 minutes but I think her suggestion of taking it out at 120 is better if you like medium rare. My roast was beefy meaty deliciousness though a little more overdone than I would choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angeldylanluke
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Ok.....really.....Just made this tonight and it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! You really just need to try it! Don't do anything extra...just make as stated. Used an internal thermostat for the roast....pulled it out of the oven when the temp got to 120....for my roast that was 3.12 lbs, it was about 1 hour 15 minutes. Let it sit and the temp rose to 135. Was PERFECT! A little red, but just perfect for us! I feel so accomplished right now.....Making a Roast Beef was always my biggest fear....Now I know I can make this for company w/o a panic attack! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldylanluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great flavor!! We followed our electronic meat thermometer to rare, which was 140 degrees and it ended up medium and a little dried out. Next time will follow another reviewers advice and pull it out at 120. We made gravy from the drippings and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
It's time to throw away your slow cookers & cook a beef roast the way it was meant to be. I added more seasoning for our taste, but other than that followed this recipe to the letter. This very simple recipe turned out the best roast I've ever made, & I've been cooking for a very long time. Do not skip tying the roast for a very tender, moist roast. This really is so much better than boiling/steaming meat in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I scaled the recipe and cooked just one pound. But it ook 55 minutes to get to medium rare! Once it was finally done, the meat was just ok. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Worked great. The temperature was ideal, I did cook it longer, I like it medium well. Nice start to have a tender roast, not burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States