All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Came out too cold in temp for my taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Deeelish!! I couldn't use my roaster with rack as it was too large. I made a "bed" with onions and carrot. I also added 1 can of beef broth to the shallow pan. I seasoned liberally ahead of time and put back in the fridge. Key is as others said. Bring it to rrom temp before cooking and let rest 15 minutes after. I also tied it as mentioned to promote even cooking. It definitely will keep cooking as it sits. Everyones oven is different but my 2 lbs. took 60 minutes for med-rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie1217

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Very easy to make. Extremely tender & flavorful. Made great sandwiches the next day with a little gravy. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Positively DELICIOUS!! I followed the recipe, including the correct cut of beef, and it turned our wonderful! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Tough!The next day I put in the crock pot to finish cooking, then we could eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I fixed an eye-of-the-round (2 lbs) last night and was disappointed. Roasted the beef about 45-50 minutes at 375. The instructions said 20 min/lb=40 minutes and yet it was still a bit rarer than medium rare--red with bloody juices. Also, the beef was tough even though I sliced it thinly with an electric knife. I used a cooking thermometer but it didn't register properly. I also tried an instant meat thermometer after I took the beef out of the oven and I couldn't get an accurate reading. I almost always have bad luck with thermometers and I am greatful for the pop-up on turkeys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I followed the recipe to a T, however, I added a few Teaspoons of water to the bottom just to give the juices a head start. Well I should have added more becuase there really weren't any juices till I started slicing the meat. While the meat was very juicy I didn't have any drippings to make the gravy. I made that from scratch using "D's Skillet Gravy" featured on here. I did find the meat to be a little tougher but I think it's because of the cut of meat (Eye Round)I would suggest using a 1/2 cup of water next time. I will make again for sure! Thanks for the EASY recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I certainly agree with the reviewer who cautioned that there is a difference between "pot" roast and "roast beef". This is recipe is for roast beef - not pot roast, which is cooked with liquids. Also, one reviewer stated that you won't get the same results with beef purchased at Walmart; the same goes for Winco. You need to purchase a good cut of meat to get the flavor and tenderness you want. I, too invest in Angus beef, or Choice, the latter being available at Costco. Look at the grading on the meat you are buying. I also agree with another reviewer who says to not only use a oven thermometer to test the oven heat, but the reviewer also says to put the thermometer on the oven shelf you are using and set oven temperature accordingly, so that the temperature on that shelf reads 375 degrees on the thermometer. Kudos to these reviewers - right on! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Keep in mind that there is a difference between pot roast and roast beef. This roast beef recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is a good method to cook a roast. I gave it 4 stars because there is room for improvement on the seasonings. I like to cut cloves of GARLIC into chunks and make little slits all over the roast about and inch or two deep and insert the garlic chunks into the roast. The garlic flavor that infuses throughout the middle of the roast is AMAZING! The garlic gets slightly sweet and mild when roasting. Then season the ouside of roast and brown on the stove top in a touch of oil on med low heat until carmel brown and then deglaze the pan with broth(1/2 cup or more),red wine(1/2 cup or more), and add bay leaf and Thyme to flavor the gravy. Of course I add the onion,carrot,potatoes,mushrooms and sometimes celery at the last hour and baste them with the juices every now and then. When roast is resting after pulled from the oven place vegetables in a bowl and reduce the pan juices on stove top. If gravy tastes to salty then add broth or water to dilute. Over medium high heat thicken the gravy with a slurry of flour mixed with water til smooth and whisk into drippings until gravy thickens. Season with Salt n pepper if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States