All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was the most delicious rump roast I have ever eaten. I have been trying to go organic with my meats and I bought and organic roast for the first time. I don't know if it was the meat or the recipe but it was absolutely perfect. I used Durkees Grill Creations Beef Seasoning as my rub. Cooked it until it was 120 degrees on my meat thermometer and let it rest 20 min. Sliced very thin with my electric knife. Melts in your mouth and so easy I told my 20 year old college student son he could make it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This Roast slices like deli roast, it does NOT shred into long tough strands. I cooked it till the meat thermometer read 160 degrees Fahrenheit , so it would reach 170 for well done after it rested. The only other thing I did differently was use garlic pepper in place of the pepper. The best roast for slicing I have ever made. Just Wonderful!!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoMouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Good recipe! We used the rub from a prime rib recipe (also on Allrecipes) and this turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
A good roast beef should not require "stewing" in liquid. This is a fail safe recipe if, as others have suggested, you ensure that your oven temp is right and you use a good meat thermometer. As someone else has suggested, a roast cooked starting at room temp will not only ensure even cooking, but will produce a nice tender roast. Letting it rest for 20 or 25 minutes will also ensure that the juice is evenly distributed, which only adds to the tenderness. Thinly slicing also helps. I've been using this cut of beef for years with great success if you are careful to follow these basic steps and don't cut corners. The only embellishments I would add to this recipe is to add your seasonings to about 3/4 cup of flour and lightly dredge the roast before putting it in the oven. Gives it a nice light, flavorful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXYANKEEGAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This is good, BUT i highly suggest cooking it in a liquid to make it tender so it's not tough!! I personally cut slits in the meat and then pour a can of french onion soup over the roast and let it sit in the pan when it's roasting. It's good to let the roast marinate in the soup broth 24hrs BEFORE you cook it. Not only does this give the meat great flavor and make it nice and tender & juicy...but when you're done roasting, use the remainder broth to make the gravy. You're guests will rave about this trust me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
A little bland but all-in-all a great, simple, quick roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I would give this a 4, my husband would give it a zero. He doesn't really care for beef roast though so that wouldn't be fair. This is just a basic simple roast recipe. I liked it and I'll be eating all the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Easiest Roast Beef Recipe I've ever made. The seasoning is simple and allows the flavor of the beef shine through. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSJBEANS
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Perfect! A classic roast beef; tasty and juicy. No need to make any changes to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Came out too cold in temp for my taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States