All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Unbelievable how something so simple can be so delicious every single time I make it. I always make sure I pick out the biggest roast (at least 3 lbs) so we can use the leftovers for french dip. And the eye round is so inexpensive, you can't go wrong! I'll never by an expensive beef roast again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
After 90 minutes @ 375, my 2.8 pound roast has an internal temperature of 120 degrees F. Oven and temperature probe are both calibrated and accurate. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Such a simple recipe, yet tastes wonderful! Perfect roast everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Thanks for submitting such a great recipe! My roast came out PERFECT thanks to your advice about cooking at 375 degrees. I had a tendency to overcook roasts, but not anymore! Even the cheapest cut of beef comes out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This is by far the BEST roast beef recipe. I made it last night for hubby and myself and it came out perfect! It was tender and juicy. I marinated it in worchestershire sauce, minced garlic, and garlic salt. My hubby who is a cooked to death meat kind of guy sure changed his tune. Now he loves his beef pink. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Turned out great. I added a couple extra spices and it was yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was the most delicious rump roast I have ever eaten. I have been trying to go organic with my meats and I bought and organic roast for the first time. I don't know if it was the meat or the recipe but it was absolutely perfect. I used Durkees Grill Creations Beef Seasoning as my rub. Cooked it until it was 120 degrees on my meat thermometer and let it rest 20 min. Sliced very thin with my electric knife. Melts in your mouth and so easy I told my 20 year old college student son he could make it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This Roast slices like deli roast, it does NOT shred into long tough strands. I cooked it till the meat thermometer read 160 degrees Fahrenheit , so it would reach 170 for well done after it rested. The only other thing I did differently was use garlic pepper in place of the pepper. The best roast for slicing I have ever made. Just Wonderful!!! Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoMouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Good recipe! We used the rub from a prime rib recipe (also on Allrecipes) and this turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
A good roast beef should not require "stewing" in liquid. This is a fail safe recipe if, as others have suggested, you ensure that your oven temp is right and you use a good meat thermometer. As someone else has suggested, a roast cooked starting at room temp will not only ensure even cooking, but will produce a nice tender roast. Letting it rest for 20 or 25 minutes will also ensure that the juice is evenly distributed, which only adds to the tenderness. Thinly slicing also helps. I've been using this cut of beef for years with great success if you are careful to follow these basic steps and don't cut corners. The only embellishments I would add to this recipe is to add your seasonings to about 3/4 cup of flour and lightly dredge the roast before putting it in the oven. Gives it a nice light, flavorful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Knapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States