All American Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this yesterday for a belated Thanksgiving dinner with my family and everybody raved. I used the same seasonings listed and added a little bit of thyme and Worcestershire sauce and let the roast marinate for about 1 hour before putting it in the oven. I also added about 1 inch of water, Worcestershire sauce, garlic and 1 onion (quartered) to the roasting pan. I would agree with previous posters and say that having a good digital meat thermometer is helpful so you can know when it's reached your desired level of cooking. My family prefers a well done roast and it was still very moist and juicy. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the best roast beef, I have ever made! It was moist and flavorful. I did use suggestion from the other viewer like cook the roast on a bed of onions and cut slit in meat and place garlic cloves inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! I've been making it for two years and my Husband loves it! i have tried it with different cuts of beef with some really great and some not so much even though this cut doesn't create a lot of juices i still found it tender and perfectly cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milomere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is wonderful and correct way to prepare a beef roast. For everyone who says to add liquid and this isn't the way to cook a roast...I think you need to understand cooking terminology. A pot roast is a tough cut of meat that needs to be browned and then braised in liquid covered and slow cooked. A beef roast is a tender cut of meat that you cook dry in the oven uncovered at a higher heat for a shorter period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Good basic, no frills recipe. I found myself going back and snacking on the leftovers after everyone had gone to bed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Quite delicious! The only thing I did differently was to sear the meat before roasting. I heated oil in a deep pan and let the meat sit for a few minutes until it was completely sealed. Made for a tender and delicious roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Worked good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I am amazed at the cooks who want to throw this in a crock pot or add veggies and potatoes to this. This is a Roast Beef, not Pot Roast, or a Crock Pot Roast. 2 totally different foods. This is an excellent recipe for Roast Beef. It should be cooked in the OVEN to ROAST for best possible flavor. In a crock pot your meats get steamed. That's why it falls apart when you take it out. Don't get me wrong. I love my crock pot, but when you want to make Roast Beef you use the oven. Anyway made as written. Give 10 stars if I could. Excellent. I did use beef stock to make a gravy, because Eye of the Round is not usually used for gravy making. Very little fat. I cooked it, cooled it down and refrigerated it so I could slice the next day. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Excellent recipe...very simple and easy to make. I am making this again today after getting rave reviews from my husband the last time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I didn't realize that this was a recipe for RARE roast! We don't like 'meat juice' around our house, so back in the oven it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States