All American Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Excellent results with the basil adding a desirable taste. I use Silver Palate oatmeal instead of quick cooking oats, which improves the resulting meal. For a side dish, recommend the Herbed Scalloped Potatoes and Onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
All-American Meatloaf Haiku: "Didn't top with cheese. But followed the recipe. American ... how?" (Maybe the cheese should be American haha, but we're not fans of melty cheese topping meatloaf, so skipped that and followed everything else exactly as written.) I've never made a meatloaf w/ oats b4, so big plus for moisture, but big thumbs-down for it not holding together very well, which didn't translate into pretty slices, nor good meatloaf sandwich leftovers. Unlikely that we'll make it again, but it was nice to try a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I used this recipe and put my on spin on it I used 1 1/2 lb ground beef and 1 lb of pork, 3/4 cup milk and 1 cup old fashioned oats. The best meatloaf I've made yet--my son had thirds!!!! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Yum! Used ground turkey for half the meat. Skipped the milk. Rolled it into a big log shape and baked in a 9x13 pan, to allow the grease and fluid to drain away. Skipped the cheese. I love to slice meatloaf and individually freeze the slices to pull out as needed to make a sandwich. Leftover sandwiches are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I have never given 5 stars before in a review, but this one deserved it. The only changes I made were that I used dried parsley instead of fresh and I used Italian seasoning instead of basil (that's all I had on hand), and I didn't put the ketchup or cheese on top because it just wasn't needed. The thing I liked best about this meatloaf was that it wasn't sweet. It was perfectly savory. My husband GOBBLED this up. It was so moist and tasted just like meatloaf is supposed to taste. This reminded me of the meatloaf served by The Village Tavern. It was that good. The combination of the onions, oatmeal, and seasonings made this so moist. I had some of the mixture left over after putting it into the loaf pan, so put the remaining mixture in muffin cups and baked for a little less time than the loaf - they were great as well! I am going to freeze them for when I need a quick lunch or dinner. Great recipe - will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
We don't care for oats in our meat loaf, I substituted equal amounts bread crumbs. I did add a few more spices (rubbed sage, marjoram, crushed red pepper, little brown sugar, worchestershire sauce) and I increased the amount of basil. I threw all the ingredients for the meat loaf into my Kitchen Aid mixer and mixed it just enough to incorporate all ingredients (about thirty seconds). Instead of layering the cheese on top, I layered it in the middle and I made a mixture of 1/4 cup ketchup, 1 tbsp. dijon mustard and 1/4 cup brown sugar and spread that over the meat loaf. I baked this in my Perfect Meat Loaf Pan. A little over two hours and this was ready to go. This took only fifteen minutes to make (not counting baking time), everyone really liked it and it made great slicing meat loaf for sandwiches the next day. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This recipe is so flavorful!! We used half an onion instead of a whole one, but I would definitely make this again!!! My boyfriend absolutely approves too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I added fresh Veggies to this. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Halved the recipe, used less onion, and did not use the cheese, the basil, nor the parsley. I finally found a meatloaf recipe the whole family could agree on. AND it didn't fall apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2gapeaches

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
The best quick and easy meatloaf we've ever head! We don't like ketchup/cheese, but the loaf itself was fantastic. Will make it again with a little worcestershire, but is great as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States