All-American Burger Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Chef John's shares history for the burger dog. HISTORY OF BURGER: This “burger dog” is far more than a hot dog shaped cheeseburger. It’s a testament to American ingenuity and being close to the right place at the right time. While I’m posting this as a fun, 4th of July grilling idea, my real motivation is to tell this “only in America” story of food stand stardom. As the story goes, Bill “Burger Bill” Parrish didn’t want to buy two different kinds of buns for his tiny snack stand, which he operated on Lake Merced, near the Olympic Club in San Francisco. Since there’s no such thing as flat, round hot dogs, Bill decided to shape his burgers to fit the hot dog bun, and The City’s most storied cheeseburger was born. The course is only open to members, so the only way to taste one of these rare beauties is if you’re invited to play as a guest. I’ve had the pleasure twice, and both times the burger experience was just as memorable as the golf. They really are brilliant. Above and beyond fitting the uni-bun, Burger Bill’s rectangular meat ended up being culinary superior for all the reasons I brag about in the video. The shape insures a great crust of grill marks, and a perfect meat-to-bun ratio as you eat your way down the length.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I plan to also try this using a large heavy duty Hoogie Bun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great recipe for a classic burger that just happens to be shaped like a hot dog! I couldn't figure out what to make for dinner tonight (didn't thaw anything) so we went out and got a pound of hamburger and fired up the grill. I used hoagie style rolls as I wasn't able to find extra-long hot dog buns. These were great and really hit the spot. We poured a little beer over these while they were cooking (an old trick from my Dad) added some pickles and a side of kettle cooked chips as well as a couple of beers which were a lot easier to drink with the "free hand" - Thanks Chef John for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
What an amazing idea all my years of cooking and doing BBQ i never thought of this... Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
What is not to like? A true burger shaped to fit a hot dog bun. I used a hoagie bun - which is a bit bigger - keep in mind these are 1/2 lb burgers - easier to eat? Maybe! Hubby liked them and that is what counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
These were fun and delicious! I started out making 8oz. dogs, but they were waaaaay too big for us, so I made 6oz. dogs and that was perfect. Also, I couldn't find extra-long hot dog buns, only regular and foot-long, so I bought brat/sausage buns and they worked out great. Essentially, these are just burger shaped dogs, lol, but they were yummy and I would def make them again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We have been making these for years now. I ran out of hamburger buns and had hot dog buns, so,,,,,,,,,, They are great!! Kids love them because of the different shape! Justmedee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I have been making these for years. I had leftover hot dog buns, so this was how I used them up. I gave the burgers a flat shape and could fit the goodies on top without dropping everything. I also flattened the bun a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
These are great, Another great alternative is to make a slit along the length of the burger and stuff lightly with chunky bleu cheese and press shut. Use Swiss cheese in place of cheddar and grill as stated above. These will melt in your mouth. I used a few slices of sauteed mushrooms that i cooked in butter and used as a extra topping.........yum yum!!! Thanks Chef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevemo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I thought these were so simple and tasted great! The best part is the kids really loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States