All-American Burger Dog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a take-off on a featured burger at a restaurant known as Fiddler's Three in Lakewood, Ca. It was a small chain of coffee shops in So. Cal. in the late 1960's. It was known as a "Fiddler Burger". It was a 1/3 lb char broiled burger on a toasted, elongated onion roll, with lettuce, tomatoes & 1000 island dressing. Cheese & onions optional. It came with fries & a small salad for around $1.85, w/cheese $1.95. As a cook there, I must have shaped & made hundreds of these. I miss that place. Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I did this for the first time over 40 years ago as a 13 year old. Grandma had purchased hot dog buns by mistake so I suggested "hamdogs". It worked and everyone was pleased, I helped save Grandma's cookout and no one was the wiser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was a fun way to grill some burgers. Quite decent. We did put some mustard in the mayonnaise along with the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hildigunnur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is a good recipe and lets the flavor of the burger out. I agree completely with Chef John. The secret is the hot dog bun creates less bun vs. meat. I am not sure why there are so many negative comments on here for this. Yes its a hamburger on a hot dog bun but unless you actually try it with minimal fixings, you miss it. The other point is yes cook until well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
They are easy to prepare and the kids like the shape... very tasty as well...I put my cheese in the middle of the burger dog...works out well. Let your imagination run with this recipe. Have Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie
Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Chef John's shares history for the burger dog. HISTORY OF BURGER: This “burger dog” is far more than a hot dog shaped cheeseburger. It’s a testament to American ingenuity and being close to the right place at the right time. While I’m posting this as a fun, 4th of July grilling idea, my real motivation is to tell this “only in America” story of food stand stardom. As the story goes, Bill “Burger Bill” Parrish didn’t want to buy two different kinds of buns for his tiny snack stand, which he operated on Lake Merced, near the Olympic Club in San Francisco. Since there’s no such thing as flat, round hot dogs, Bill decided to shape his burgers to fit the hot dog bun, and The City’s most storied cheeseburger was born. The course is only open to members, so the only way to taste one of these rare beauties is if you’re invited to play as a guest. I’ve had the pleasure twice, and both times the burger experience was just as memorable as the golf. They really are brilliant. Above and beyond fitting the uni-bun, Burger Bill’s rectangular meat ended up being culinary superior for all the reasons I brag about in the video. The shape insures a great crust of grill marks, and a perfect meat-to-bun ratio as you eat your way down the length.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
What an amazing idea all my years of cooking and doing BBQ i never thought of this... Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I plan to also try this using a large heavy duty Hoogie Bun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We have been making these for years now. I ran out of hamburger buns and had hot dog buns, so,,,,,,,,,, They are great!! Kids love them because of the different shape! Justmedee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Just a hamburger in the shape of a hot dog. Use bigger buns than the regular hot dog buns. Hard to put any of the fixings on, but a decent solution if you don't have hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All-American Burger Dog

Not just a dog-shaped burger! The meat, cheese, & bun are in perfect proportion.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States