All American Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
We made 2 changes to the recipe: used Granny Smith apples instead and used half the nutmeg and replaced the other half with allspice. Otherwise, followed everything else as best we could. Topping and filling were both EXCELLENT. Did fall apart very easily as others said, but I actually kinda like it that way. Only drawback was the flavor of the crust. Just tasted like oil, and pretty strongly. Didn't notice as much when I had enough filling and topping in a bite with it, but on it's own it's pretty gross. It did make the dough easier to work with than one made with butter or shortening, which makes it a good beginner pie. But we may just try another crust with this one some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Stewart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this for thanksgiving and had rave reviews from everyone. Pretty much everyone went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Easy and delicious to make. No difficult crusts, the crunchy topping is perfect, the filling is excellent. This will be the only apple pie I will make from here on out. Everyone needs this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Made it and everyone loved loved loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Amazing, very easy to make. Will be doing it again soon !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Nice pie. I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours though. I started it in a 375 degree oven then dropped it to 350 for the remaining 45 minutes. I started with raw apples. The crust did not get burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by benjamins_mummy
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Loved loved loved this! Added the 2tsb cornstarch and 1 tsb lemon juice and cooked on low with apples and spices prior to baking. Made lattice crust for top. Was light and full of flavour! A definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was a hit with my family! I did peel the apples and cook them first as recommended by other reviewers with lemon juice and cornstarch. I also had to cook the pie for about 30 minutes longer to get the topping firm in the middle. The topping could be sweeter but the tart apples balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Good basic apple pie. Will try suggestions for topping next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Delicious! The crust was very easy and tasted great, even with my olive oil for veggi oil substitution. The crumble on top was the perfect consistancy. The apples I used were monsters, so I only needed five instead of all six the recipe called for. A simple yet flavorful pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States