Alissa's Vegetarian Lentil Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
My husband and I "mmmm'd" our way through each bite. YUM! I made a few changes because of what I had on hand: oat flour instead of flax meal, wheat bran instead of germ. I also used veg. broth when cooking lentils and added 1 Tbsp. vegetarian Worcestershire to the lentils while they were in the food processor. Put mix of tomato paste and ketchup on top, covered with foil and baked for 45 mins, uncovered for 10 and it was great! (Not too dry, not too mushy.) This was my first time making vegetarian meatloaf and it was the best my husband and I have ever had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
OUTSTANDING!! we loved this so much, it's destined to be one of our staple meals. I got all wacky with Indian spices. I commandeered the leftovers for lunch the next day. Looove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was my first ever attempt at making a homemade veggie "meat" meal. I've only been eating a vegetarian diet for about 2 weeks now, and as long as I can eat stuff like this I think I will be just fine. This recipe is excellent and very tasty, even for someone who is used to eating meat. It even has a meat like texture once cooked! I followed the recipe, but pureed the onion (I don't like onion chunks)and also added in some Portugese seasoning in addition to the other seasinings required. I followed the recomendations by others and baked the loaf covered in foil for 45 mins, and then uncovered it and poured a mixture of ketchup and tomato sauce sprinkled with parsley on top and then baked for another 30 mins. It tastes great and the recipe made a lot way to much to fit into a standard size UK loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxybc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Excellent "meatloaf!" I took some of the below suggestions and put a mixture of tomato paste/ketchup on top of the loaf before I put it in the oven. Then I baked it, covered in foil, for 45 minutes. After that, I uncovered it and baked it for another 20 minutes. Next time I think I will add a little more onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
so i did the whole bag of lentels, two carrots (about half a lb) a whole green bell pepper, whole med/large red onion, and coupple hand fulls flax seed and zatarans jyumblya mix (we just happened to have on hand) rather than great the carrots i rough chopped everything then threw it in the processor and plused in my lentils. while my rice was cooking. once everything is mixed i foled in the rice to avoid turning it to mush then used my icecream scoop to do 'muffins' of it baked them and they rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
my meat-a-tarian husband LOVED this! but i had to cook it twice as long for it to 'set'. next time i plan to add a little tomato paste to the top, cover with foil, and cook appx 2 hours. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Oh my gosh - this was amazing! I was a bit nervous when I went to the commissary & bought all these ingredients that I've never used (wheat germ & flax seed) just hoping it wasn't a disaster. It turned out GREAT! The preparation seemed to take forever - but I knew that going in. The only thing I changed was adding ketchup to the top before baking it. Mine was still really mushy after the 45 minutes, another 10 minutes later it was ok..but I would have left it in a few more minutes if I had the time. Overall, it was great & we will definitely make this again. My meat eating husband even said he'd eat it again. thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. My family and I are very very new vegetarians and my husband is pretty meat and potatoes. He loves this recipe as well. In fact, I used the same idea to make meatballs for spaghetti and those turned out fantastic as well. I was super surprised by how yummy and "meat-like" the texture was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
To make this recipe vegan I used Ener-G egg replacer instead of egg whites. It worked well except it took 1 &1/2 hour to bake. Welll worth it! Not only was it delicious last night fresh from the oven but I also ate it as a cold sandwich for lunch today. Loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The flavor was great, though I would recommend cooking it longer to get a more appetizing/less mushy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States